WARREN W. BUCK, an internationally known theoretical physicist, is professor of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences and chancellor emeritus at the University of Washington, Bothell (UWB). He is also adjunct professor of physics at the Seattle campus of the University of Washington. Prior to joining UWB, Dr. Buck was professor of physics and director of the Nuclear/High Energy Physics Research Center of Excellence at Hampton University. He was also a member of the team that established the scientific program at the Department of Energy’s Jefferson Laboratory in Newport News, Virginia.

BEVERLY A. COOK has over 30 years’ experience in nuclear safety, materials research, facilities operations and management. She is currently the Jet Propulsion Laboratory’s Planning and Integration Manager for the Deep Space Network (DSN) Program. Prior to joining the DSN team, she supported the JPL development and use of space nuclear power systems in NASA missions. In her prior work for the Department of Energy, she was responsible for the fabrication and delivery of the radioisotope thermoelectric generators (RTGs) for the Cassini mission as well as delivery of RTGs to other DOE customers. She also interacted with Congress, OMB, and NASA on issues related to funding and support for continued development of nuclear power systems for space applications. Prior to joining JPL in 2004, Ms. Cook served as the Assistant Secretary of Energy for Environment, Safety, and Health. Other positions at the DOE included Manager of the Idaho Operations Office and Deputy Assistant Secretary of Nuclear Energy.

SERGIO B. GUARRO is a Distinguished Engineer in the Engineering and Technology Group (ETG), Systems Engineering Division (SED) of the Aerospace Corporation. He applies multi-decade expertise in systems engineering, risk assessment, and risk management disciplines onto the development, coordination, and implementation of mission assurance processes in National Security Space (NSS) and NASA programs. He provides leadership in the development and establishment of risk management and mission assurance best practices within Aerospace by assisting NSS programs in the setting and execution of their risk management and mission assurance goals and activities. He also supports the corporate Aerospace Corporation Chief Engineer and Systems Engineering organizations in the development of risk management and mission assurance guidance and implementation tools for use in all NSS programs supported by Aerospace. In the course of his career Dr. Guarro has developed risk assessment methodologies for both space and nuclear power systems, such as the one adopted for the launch approval of the NASA Cassini nuclear-powered mission, and the Dynamic Flowgraph Methodology (DFM) for the risk analysis of dynamic systems. He is the author of the chapters of the NASA Probabilistic Risk Assessment Procedures Guide that address the risk modeling of physical systems and the risk of software-intensive space systems, and he has served on NRC committees as an expert panelist for space systems risk assessment. He has authored and has been the co-editor of technical textbooks and has published close to 80 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings. His latest work in the area of mission assurance is documented in The Aerospace Corporation Mission Assurance Guide, which is currently being published and distributed across the Company. Dr. Guarro’s direct nuclear power expertise was applied in jobs with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (NRC/ACRS) and with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, where he was a project leader in the nuclear systems safety program. He is still currently a consultant to the NRC/ACRS. At Aerospace, he started his career as an Engineering Specialist and then carried several ETG management positions, including that of Manager of the Reliability and Risk Assessment Section and then, before his current appointment, of Director of the Risk Planning and Assessment Office.

ROGER D. LAUNIUS is senior curator in the Division of Space History at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Air and Space Museum in Washington, D.C. Between 1990 and 2002 he served as chief historian of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. He has written or edited more than 20 books on aerospace history, including Critical Issues in the History of Spaceflight, Space Stations: Base Camps to the Stars, and Frontiers of Space Exploration. He has also completed a study of the history of radioisotope thermoelectric generators.

FRANK B. McDONALD (NAS) is a pioneer and leader in cosmic-ray astrophysics and high-energy astronomy in general. He is also well known in the areas of solar wind and planetary magnetospheres. He is currently a senior research scientist in the Institute for Physical Science and Technology at the University of Maryland, College Park, and formerly served as NASA chief scientist. Dr. McDonald has been involved in the study of energetic particles in the heliosphere for many years. His energetic particle experiments on the Pioneer and Voyager spacecraft continue to be a resource for studying the dynamics of the outer heliosphere and the properties of low-energy galactic and anomalous cosmic rays. Dr. McDonald is a former NAS section 16 liaison and was chair of the NRC Panel on Space Sciences. He also served on the NRC Committee on Solar and Space Physics and Committee on NASA Astrophysics Performance Assessment.

ALAN R. NEWHOUSE is a consultant in the field of space nuclear power and related technologies. In 1995, he retired from the Department of Energy where he served as the Deputy Assistant Secretary of Energy for Space and Defense Power Systems. As such, he was responsible for the management and execution of programs to provide nuclear

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement