HUS hemolytic uremic syndrome

ICC integrated cell culture

IPCC Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

JICA Japan International Cooperation Agency

JMP Joint Monitoring Programme for Water Supply and Sanitation

MDG Millennium Development Goal

MFC microbial fuel cell

MHD Milwaukee Health Department

MOE Ministry of Environment (Canada)

MOH Medical Officer of Health (Canada)

MWW Milwaukee Water Works

NCZVED National Center for Zoonotic, Vector-borne and Enteric Diseases

NGO nongovernmental organization

NIEHS National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

NIH National Institutes of Health

NRC National Research Council

NTU nephelometric turbidity unit

OECD Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

PAHO Pan American Health Organization

PCR polymerase chain reaction

PET polyethylene terephthalate

PUC Walkerton Public Utilities Commission

SAC Spills Action Centre (Canada)

SCADA supervisory control and data acquisition system

SCID severe combined immunodeficient

TCR Total Coliform Rule

TCRDSAC Total Coliform Rule/Distribution System Advisory Committee

UNICEF United Nations Children’s Fund

UV ultraviolet

WBDOSS Waterborne Disease and Outbreak Surveillance System

WHO World Health Organization

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement