solar dynamic power system (2 kW) for space use and tested it in a vacuum environment. He initiated and led the Auburn student-faculty team that designed and built a solar-powered house, winning third place in the first Department of Energy (DOE)-sponsored Solar Decathlon. Dr. Brandhorst helped to develop the ENTECH concentrator solar array used in the 1992 Deep Space 1 mission to a comet. He has served as the chief of the Power Technology Division at the NASA Lewis Research Center. He has received the NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal (photovoltaics; 1984), the IEEE William R. Cherry Award (photovoltaics; 1984), and the NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal (space power; 1996). Dr. Brandhorst received a Ph.D. in nuclear chemistry from Purdue University.

DAVID C. BYERS is a consultant in the areas of spacecraft propulsion and power systems. He was manager of the spacecraft propulsion line of business for the TRW Space and Electronics Group from 1995 to 1998. Previously, Mr. Byers was chief of the On-Board Propulsion Branch at NASA’s Lewis (now Glenn) Research Center, agent for electric propulsion for the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization (BMDO), manager of research and technology for NASA’s Office of Aeronautics and Space Technology, and section head and engineer in electric propulsion at NASA’s Lewis Research Center. Mr. Byers’ extensive expertise includes micropropulsion, electric propulsion (resistojets, arcjets, ion and Hall accelerators, and advanced concepts), and chemical propulsion (bi-propellants, advanced mono-propellants, and H/O RCS). He received the AIAA Wyld Propulsion Award in 1989 and the NASA Outstanding Leadership Award in 1990 and was named an AIAA fellow in 1998.

DAVID L. CHENETTE is the director of the space sciences and instrumentation section of the Lockheed Martin Advanced Technology Center, with responsibility for the Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory and the Space Physics Laboratory. Following a postdoctoral appointment in the Space Radiation Laboratory of the California Institute of Technology, Dr. Chenette joined the Space Sciences Laboratory of the Aerospace Corporation, where he continued research on the magnetospheres of the outer planets as well as the energetic particle environments near Earth and its magnetosphere. He contributed to both theoretical and laboratory work on cosmic ray effects on microelectronics, including solar energetic particle effects. Dr. Chenette joined the Space Physics Department of the Lockheed Palo Alto Research Laboratory in 1987 and led the development of the department’s energetic particle and auroral x-ray spectrometers, which were launched in 1991 aboard the NASA Upper Atmosphere Research Satellite. He was named space physics department manager in 1998 and manager of the Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory in 2000. In 1999 he led the development of the Earth Polychromatic Imaging Camera that Lockheed Martin, which was developed for the Triana mission. In 2004 he was promoted to his current position. Dr. Chenette earned all three of his degrees in physics at the University of Chicago.

INDERJIT CHOPRA is the Alfred Gessow Professor of Aerospace Engineering and director of the Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center at the University of Maryland. His studies include work on various fundamental problems related to aeromechanics of helicopters, including aeromechanical stability, active vibration control, modeling of composite blades, rotor head health monitoring, aeroelastic optimization, smart structures, micro air vehicles, and comprehensive aeromechanics analyses of bearingless, tilt-rotor, servo-flap, compound, teetering, and circulation control rotors. Prior to teaching, Dr. Chopra spent more than 4 years at NASA Ames Research Center/Stanford University Joint Institute of Aeronautics and Acoustics working on the development of aeroelastic analyses and testing of advanced helicopter rotor systems. Dr. Chopra served on the NRC Panel C: Structures and Materials of the Committee on Decadal Survey of Civil Aeronautics, and he is a member of the Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board.

FRANK D. DRAKE is the director of the SETI Institute’s Carl Sagan Center for the Study of Life in the Universe. He started his professional career as an electronics officer in the U.S. Navy. He was then associated with the Agassiz Station Radio Astronomy project at Harvard University, where he received the Ph.D. degree in astronomy. He then conducted planetary research and cosmic radio source studies at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory at Green Bank, West Virginia, where he shared in the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement