contributions to teaching, research, and application of reliability engineering in electric power generation, transmission, and distribution systems. Dr. Billinton is actively involved in research dealing with engineering system reliability evaluation with a particular emphasis on electric power systems. The concepts and techniques developed by the Reliability Research Group have been applied in a wide range of power system applications. These include work in generation capacity planning, composite generation and transmission system evaluation, and distribution system analysis. A present focus of the research is to combine power system security considerations with the more conventional adequacy assessment techniques to create an overall framework for power system reliability assessment. The Reliability Research Group has pioneered the development of reliability worth/reliability cost concepts for power system optimization and decision making. Dr. Billinton has authored or co-authored eight books on reliability evaluation and more than 775 papers on power system reliability evaluation, economic system operation, and power system analysis. He holds BSc, MSc, PhD and DSc degrees in electrical engineering from the Universities of Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

Brenda Myers Bohlke is the president of Myers Bohlke Enterprise, LLC, a consulting firm, and the chair of the Underground Construction Association of the Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration. She was formerly the vice president and corporate manager for Research, Development & Innovation at Parsons Brinckerhoff, Inc. Dr. Myers Bohlke has more than 20 years of experience in support of a variety of under ground and civil design projects and has previously served on National Research Council committees. Her background includes professional and academic training in traditional geology, rock mechanics, soil mechanics, and the design and construction of underground structures, including mechanized tunneling. In 1988 Dr. Myers Bohlke was selected as a Congressional Fellow by the National Society of Professional Engineers. She served as science and technology advisor to Senator Daniel P. Moynihan (D-NY) for public works issues and as a staff member on the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works. She advised on issues surrounding infrastructure, environment, and high-speed ground transportation. As Senator Moynihan's advisor, her responsibilities also included evaluation of research programs for funding recommendations, staffing on technical issues, infrastructure funding, cleanup of hazardous waste, environmental and coastal zone management issues, and waste disposal. Dr. Myers Bohlke earned a BS in geology from the University of Maryland, an MS in marine geology/geotechnology from the University of Miami, and a master’s degree in engineering science and a PhD in geotechnical and underground design from the University of California.

Raymond E. DuBose is the director for Energy Services at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he has worked for the past 33 years. As the director for Energy Services, he oversees a department of 150 employees, with responsibility for long-range planning, capital program management, operation, maintenance, and cost allocation for all campus utilities and central energy plants. Energy Services is a receipt-supported auxiliary on the university campus with receipts of $100 million per year. Mr. DuBose is also leading the university’s energy planning for its new 900-plus-acre Carolina North campus, where the university is seeking to use 100 percent alternative energy sources in its energy production. Mr. DuBose has been an active member of the International District Energy Association (IDEA) for the past 22 years. IDEA’s core mission is to support the growth and use of district energy as a means to conserve fuel and increase energy efficiency to improve the global environment. He has held many positions within the IDEA and has served on the board of directors. In 2003, he received the Norm Taylor Award, IDEA’s highest recognition of service to the district energy industry. In 2007, he received a 20/20 Vision award for visionary leadership and continuous commitment to the advancement of the association. Mr. DuBose is an active member of the UNC-Chapel Hill Vice Chancellor’s Sustainability Advisory Committee and the Higher Education Committee of the American

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement