ROBERT W. BRODERSEN, Chair, is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the John Whinnery Chair Professor in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at the University of California, Berkeley, and co-scientific director of the Berkeley Wireless Research Center. His expertise is in solid-state circuitry and microelectronics, and his current research is in new applications of integrated circuits focused on the areas of low-power design and wireless communications and the computer-aided design (CAD) tools necessary to support these activities. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and has received numerous prestigious awards throughout his career. Professor Brodersen received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

DONALD B. CHAFFIN is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the RG Snyder Distinguished University Professor, and the G. Lawton and Louise G. Johnson Professor of Industrial and Operations Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Occupational Health at the University of Michigan. He was elected into the NAE for fundamental engineering contributions to and leadership in occupational biomechanics and industrial ergonomics. Software resulting from his work is used in companies and universities throughout the world to evaluate people’s risk of overexertion injuries when performing a variety of common manual tasks and to assist in designing workplaces and vehicles to better accommodate a diverse population. He is the founder and director of the Human Motion Simulation Laboratory at the University of Michigan. This laboratory is currently supported by GM, Ford Motor Company, Daimler Chrysler, International Truck and Engine Corporation, Lockheed Martin, the U.S. Postal Service, and the U.S. Army Tank-Automotive Command to develop and implement software modules to predict human motions and biomechanical limitations in CAD simulations that would affect the design of future vehicle and workplace systems. Dr. Chaffin has received numerous prestigious awards. He has published 105 peer-reviewed journal articles and 23 book chapters and co-authored 5 books, the latest entitled Digital Human Modeling for Workplace and Vehicle Design. He received his Ph.D. in industrial engineering from the University of Michigan.

PETER M. KOGGE is associate dean of engineering for research and also holds the McCourtney Chair in Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) at the University of Notre Dame. Prior to his joining Notre Dame in 1994, he was with IBM Federal Systems Division, and he was appointed an IEEE fellow in 1990 and an IBM fellow in 1993. In 1977, Dr. Kogge was a visiting professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. From 1977 through 1994, he was also an adjunct professor in the Computer Science Department of the State University of New York at Binghamton. Since the summer of 1997, he has been a distinguished visiting scientist at the Center for Integrated Space Microsystems at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. He is also the Research Thrust Leader for Architecture in Notre Dame’s Center for Nano Science and Technology. For the 2000-2001 academic year, Dr. Kogge was the interim Schubmehl-Prein Chairman of the CSE Department at Notre Dame. Since the fall of 2003, he has also been a concurrent professor of electrical engineering. His research interests are in advanced computer architectures using unconventional technologies, such as processing-in-memory, and nanotechnologies, such as quantum-dot cellular automata.

KENNETH REIFSNIDER, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, is director of the Solid Oxide Fuel Program and professor of mechanical engineering at the University of South Carolina. Previously, he was Pratt and Whitney Chair Professor in Design and Reliability in the Department of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement