12:00 p.m.

Overview of Select Agent Program (lunch will be available)


• Robbin Weyant, Director, Division of Select Agents and Toxins, Coordinating Office for Terrorism Preparedness and Emergency Response, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention




• LouAnn C. Burnett, Assistant Director and Biological Safety Officer, Vanderbilt Environmental Health & Safety, Vanderbilt University


• Dennis W. Metzger, Professor and Theopold Smith Alumni Chair; Director, Center for Immunology and Microbial Disease, Albany Medical College [by teleconference]

1:45 p.m.

Research and lessons from other sectors


• Kelley Krokos, Senior Research Scientist, American Institutes for Research

2:30 p.m.


2:45 p.m.

Laboratory security


Overview of biosafety, biosurety, and biosecurity: Robert J. Hawley (committee member), Senior Advisor, Science, Mid-Atlantic Operations, Midwest Research Institute


Implementation of biosurety: Jeffrey Adamovicz, Principal Science Advisor, Center for Biological Safety and Security, Mid-Atlantic Operations, Midwest Research Institute


Physical and operational security solutions: Paul Langevin (committee member), Director of Laboratory Design, Merrick and Company

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement