ideas were used by the Roundtable co-chairs and staff to develop an action plan for activities to be undertaken by the Roundtable over the next few years.

To date, the Roundtable has explored topics such as linking knowledge with action for sustainable development, environmental regulation and its alternatives, sustainability indicators, rapid urbanization, and rebuilding the Gulf Coast Region in a sustainable manner. Major activities currently are being planned to examine the effectiveness of public-private partnerships for sustainability, certification of sustainable goods and services, urban environmental sustainability, sustainable energy, food security, and to discuss federal research and development activities to address selected high priority challenges to sustainability.

For Additional Information

For more information about the Roundtable, please contact Marina Moses, Director of the National Academies’ Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability, at or 202-334-2143.

Science and Technology for Sustainability Roundtable Membership

Emmy Simmons (Co-Chair) Assistant Administrator for Economic Growth, Agriculture, and Trade (retired), USAID

Thomas Graedel (Co-Chair) (NAE)

Clifton R. Musser Professor of Industrial Ecology, Yale University

Matt Arnold



Ann M. Bartuska

Acting Deputy Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Environment, U.S. Department of Agriculture*

Arden Bement (NAE)


National Science Foundation*

Michael Bertolucci


Interface Research Corporation

Nancy Cantor

President and Chancellor

Syracuse University

John Carberry

Director of Environmental Technology (retired)


Leslie Carothers


Environmental Law Institute

William Clark (NAS)

Harvey Brooks Professor of International Science, Public Policy, and Human Development

Harvard University

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement