and a fellow of the APS, the Biophysical Society, the American Society for the Advancement of Science, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received the Award in Pure Chemistry (1986) and the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry (2000), both from the American Chemical Society. He is the 2004 recipient of the Biological Physics Prize awarded by the APS.

Robert H. Austin (NAS) is a professor of biophysics at Princeton University whose current research involves topics such as DNA conductance and nanofabrication. He received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1975. Since 1979, Dr. Austin has been a professor at Princeton University. In 1998 he was elected as a fellow of the American Physical Society and as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. In the following year, Dr. Austin was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences for his ability to combine physical tools and theories with biochemical techniques to attack fundamental problems in protein and nucleic acid dynamics and function. His research interests span three areas: protein dynamics and conformational statistics; DNA dynamics and base pair sequence elastic variability; and applications of micro- and nanofabrication technology to cellular and molecular biology. He has also served as chair of the Division of Biological Physics in the American Physical Society (2002). Currently, he is the chair of the U.S. Liaison Committee for the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

Bonnie Bassler (NAS) is professor and director of graduate studies in the Department of Molecular Biology at Princeton University and has been an HHMI investigator since 2005. She received her Ph.D. in biochemistry from the Johns Hopkins University in 1984. Before becoming a professor, Dr. Bassler was a postdoctoral fellow and research scientist at the Agouron Institute. Her current research interests include the molecular mechanisms that bacteria use to communicate with one another. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology (2002) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2006). She is also a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2006). Dr. Bassler is the recipient of several awards, including the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (2002), the Theobald Smith Society Waksman Award (2003), the Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award for Medical Technology, and the Eli Lilly and Company Research Award (2006). She was also chosen as the 2004 Inventor of the Year by the New York Intellectual Property Law Association. She is a member of several professional societies and has served on several committees and scientific advisory boards such as that for the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin.

Charles R. Cantor (NAS) is a founder, chief scientific officer, and member of the board of directors of Sequenom, Inc. He is also a founder of SelectX Phar-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement