Department of Economics, Australian National University. Dr. Parry’s research focuses primarily on environmental, transportation, tax, and public health policies. His recent work has analyzed gasoline taxes, fuel economy standards, transit subsidies, alcohol taxes, policies to reduce traffic congestion and accidents, environmental tax shifts, the role of technology policy in environmental protection, the incidence of pollution control policies, and the interactions between regulatory policies and the broader tax system. He received a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Chicago, an M.A. in economics from Warwick University, and a B.A. in economics from the University of Sheffield.

William F. Powers, NAE, is retired vice president, research, Ford Motor Company. His approximately 20 years at Ford included positions as director, Vehicle, Powertrain and Systems Research; director, Product and Manufacturing Systems; program manager, Specialty Car Programs; and executive director, Ford Research Laboratory and Information Technology. Prior positions also include professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, during which time he consulted with NASA, Northrop, Caterpillar, and Ford; research engineer, University of Texas; and mathematician and aerospace engineer, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center. Dr. Powers is a fellow at the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the Society of Automotive Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and the International Federation of Automatic Control. He is a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. He has extensive expertise in advanced research and development of automotive technology. He is a member of the National Academies’ Board on Energy and Environmental Systems, and recently served on the Committee on Alternatives and Strategies for Future Hydrogen Production and Use. He has a B.S. in aerospace engineering, University of Florida, and a Ph.D. in engineering mechanics, University of Texas-Austin.

Edward S. Rubin is the Alumni Professor of Environmental Engineering and Science at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). He holds joint appointments in the Departments of Engineering and Public Policy and Mechanical Engineering and is the founding director of CMU’s Environmental Institute and Center for Energy and Environmental Studies. His teaching and research interests at CMU are in environmental control, energy utilization, and technology-policy interactions, with a particular focus on coal-based systems. His expertise includes modeling and assessment of energy and environmental systems with applications to electric power generation technologies, energy use, and emission control systems; global climate change policy issues; carbon sequestration and management; and environmental technology innovation and its relation to government policies. He has served as a member of numerous technical and advisory committees, including to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Department of Energy, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and the National Academy of Sciences/National Research Council. He is a past chairman of the Environmental Control Division of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He earned a B.E. in mechanical engineering from the City College of New York and an M.S. and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Stanford University.

Robert W. Shaw, Jr., is president of Aretê Corporation, the manager of the Micro-Generation Technology Fund, LLC, and the five Utech venture funds. He has over 20 years of experience in the venture capital industry and is a leader in developing modular/dispersed generation, renewable energy generation, hydrogen energy systems, and specialty materials. He previously held the position of senior vice president and was a member of the board of directors of Booz, Allen & Hamilton, where he was a founder of the firm’s Energy Division, which provided management and technical consulting services to utilities and energy companies. He also held research positions at Bell Laboratories and Cavendish Laboratory directed at the electronic and structural properties of materials. Dr. Shaw served for 11 years as director and chairman of Distributed Energy Systems Corporation (DESC) and for 5 years as director and chairman of CTP Hydrogen Corporation. He has been a director of H2Gen Innovations, Inc., since 2001. He has served as a member of the NRC Board on Energy and Environmental Systems and the Panel on Benefits of DOE’s Fuel Cell R&D Program. He is also a member of DOE’s Hydrogen Technology Advisory Committee. He has a Ph.D. in applied physics from Stanford University, an M.S.E.E. from Cornell University, and an M.P.A. in organization design from American University.

Tony Wu is principal research engineer and project manager at the DOE’s National Carbon Capture Center, managed by Southern Company. He is responsible for CO2 capture technology assessment and coordinating testing and demonstration of promising technologies at the center. He also served on the FutureGen Technical Committee from 2008 to 2009 for the development of the DOE-sponsored zero emission coal-fueled IGCC power plant in Mattoon, Illinois. Prior to the current position, he was responsible for multiple research areas at Southern Company, including distributed energy resources, hydrogen, electric transportation, and energy storage programs. He has more than 20 years of combined experience in fundamental research, technology assessment and development, product testing and validation, and project management. His technical expertise is in chemical, material and electrochemical behavior of various power generation and energy storage systems such as ultracapacitor, battery and fuel cell technologies. Previous positions include staff technology engineer, Energizer Power Systems, and technology engineer, Gates Energy Products. He has a B.S. in chemical engineering from Tamkang University (Taiwan) and an M.S. in chemical engineering from Auburn University.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement