U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and counts several hundred users. PSAT is currently used by the DOE to support the Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing Loan Program. He was awarded an R&D 100 Award in 2004, presented to the 100 most technologically significant new products and processes introduced into the market each year for the development of PSAT. PSAT is currently used by more than 130 companies worldwide with more than 750 users. He also has helped to provide direction to DOE’s R&D activities with the publication of dozens of technical papers.

Charles K. Salter is retired after working 39 years with Mack Trucks, Inc./Volvo PowerTrain NA (3.5 years). His experience covers a wide range of heavy-duty diesel engine engineering and development. His most recent position was as executive director, of engine development, where he was responsible for all engine/system functions (design and analysis; emissions control/fuel economy optimization; electronics system development, performance durability testing, manufacturing, supplier, sales and service liaison). This responsibility included design and production introduction of the world’s first fully electronically controlled diesel unit pumps for 12-liter, six-cylinder engines in 1990. He jointly initiated (with Detroit Diesel) and developed, with the Environmental Protections Agency (EPA) and various industry participants a urea infrastructure for targeted 2007 calendar year engine production (then delayed to 2010). He participated in industry collaborative research through the U.S. Department of Energy Diesel Crosscut Committee, which was part of the 21st Century Truck Partnership. He was a consultant to Volvo PowerTrain NA from 2005 to 2007 on an advanced large truck diesel exhaust gas recirculation cooler vibration study/amelioration and on heavy-duty truck hybrid power train duty cycle test procedure development for comparative fuel consumption (EPA/industry/HTUF). He has been a member of the Society of Automotive Engineers for 43 years; an organizer for World Congress technical sessions on heavy-duty diesel fuel injection systems for several years; and company representative to the Engine Manufacturers Association for 25 years, including 13 years on its board of directors, where he has been treasurer, vice president, and president. He holds a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Pennsylvania State University and an M.S. in engineering, solid mechanics, from the University of Maryland.

James J. Winebrake is chair of the Department of Science, Technology, and Society/Public Policy at Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT). Dr. Winebrake focuses his research on solving problems related to energy security, environmental quality, and transportation. He has published extensively in scholarly journals, coauthored a textbook on environmental modeling, and was editor and lead contributor for a book on alternative energy. He is also co-principal investigator on a recently awarded $2 million National Science Foundation grant to study the impact of greenhouse gas policies on the transportation sector. Dr. Winebrake’s recent research has been on sustainable goods movement, including evaluations of greenhouse gas emissions from trucks, trains, ships, and planes. At RIT, Dr. Winebrake is co-director of the Laboratory for Environmental Computing and Decision Making and director of the University-National Park Energy Partnership Program. Dr. Winebrake received a B.S. in physics from Lafayette College, an M.S. in technology and policy from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and a Ph.D. in energy management and policy from the University of Pennsylvania.

John Woodrooffe heads the Transportation Safety Analysis Division, University of Michigan Transportation Institute (UMTRI). He is responsible for the Center for National Truck and Bus Statistics, which conducts nationwide surveys of Trucks Involved in Fatal Accidents and Buses Involved in Fatal Accidents, and the Statistical Analysis Group, which performs analytical modeling and conducts research to advance statistical methods for road and vehicle safety analysis. He is an international expert on policy and safety evaluation of combination vehicles. Prior to joining UMTRI, Mr. Woodrooffe founded the Road Vehicle Research Program at the National Research Council of Canada and developed it into a successful, internationally active heavy truck research laboratory. He was a consultant to Australia’s National Road Transport Commission for a unique 3-year performance-based standards development project that produced a new performance-based regulatory system for large vehicle combinations. He has also served as chair of the Large Truck-Tractor Trailer working group for the 21st Century Truck Partnership through the U.S. Department of Energy. The program evaluated vehicle systems and forecasted the probable influence of emerging technologies on fuel consumption and vehicle emissions. Mr. Woodrooffe holds master’s and bachelor’s degrees in mechanical engineering from the University of Ottawa.

Martin B. Zimmerman is Ford Motor Company Clinical Professor of Business Administration, University of Michigan. His career has spanned academia, government, and business. He has served as chief economist and group vice president at Ford Motor Company, where he was responsible for corporate economics, governmental affairs, environmental and safety engineering, and corporate social responsibility. Prior to joining Ford he taught at the Business School of the University of Michigan and at the Sloan School of Management at MIT. He serves on the National Commission on Energy Policy and also served as a member of the Panel of Economic Advisers of the Congressional Budget Office and as a Senior Staff Economist on the President’s Council of Economic Advisors. His research is concerned with energy policy, government regulation of business, and economic developments in the automotive industry. He earned an A.B. from Dartmouth College (1967) and a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1975).

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement