funding a National Cancer Institute-designated Cancer Center at UCSD, which he directed from its inception in 1976 until he went to Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in 1985. At Memorial Sloan-Kettering, Dr. Mendelsohn chaired, reorganized, and expanded its Department of Medicine. He also extended the landmark research that he began at UCSD to clarify at the molecular level how cetuximab alters growth-signaling pathways and cell functions. He also demonstrated the additive antitumor effects of EGF receptor inhibition plus chemotherapy or radiotherapy. As a result of successful clinical trials, the Food and Drug Administration approved cetuximab (Erbitux) for the treatment of colon cancer in 2004 and head and neck cancer in 2006. Dr. Mendelsohn served as the founding editor-in-chief of Clinical Cancer Research, a monthly translational research journal published by the American Association for Cancer Research, and he has been a member of the editorial boards of other leading scientific journals. He has authored more than 200 scientific papers and articles for journals and textbooks and is senior editor of The Molecular Basis of Cancer. His awards include the Joseph H. Burchenal and the Dorothy P. Landon awards from the American Association for Cancer Research and the David A. Karnofsky Prize from the American Society of Clinical Oncology. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the U.S. National Academies.

Harold L. Moses, M.D. (Vice Chair), is director emeritus of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center; the Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Molecular Oncology; professor of cancer biology, medicine and pathology; and the founding and current director of the Frances Williams Preston Laboratories. Dr. Moses graduated from Berea College in 1958 and then obtained an M.D. degree from the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in 1962. After residency training in pathology at Vanderbilt and postdoctoral research training at the National Institutes of Health, he spent 5 years as a faculty member in pathology at Vanderbilt and 12 years at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, the last 6 of which were as chair of the Department of Cell Biology. He returned to Vanderbilt 23 years ago as professor and chair of the Department of Cell Biology in the School of Medicine. Fifteen years ago he became the founding director of the Vanderbilt Cancer Center and had a concurrent appointment as the B.F. Byrd, Jr. Professor of Clinical Oncology. He resigned as chair of the Department of Cell Biology in 1998 to devote more time to the cancer center, now named the E. Bronson Ingram Cancer Center. At the end of 2004, he became director emeritus of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center and the Hortense B. Ingram Professor of Medical Oncology.

Susan G. Arbuck, M.D., M.Sc., F.A.C.P., is an independent consultant at Susan G. Arbuck MD LLC. Dr. Arbuck has been a a leader in medical oncol-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement