Marland received a Ph.D. in geology from the University of Minnesota and a B.S. from Virginia Tech.

Keith Paustian is a professor of soil ecology in the Department of Soil and Crop Sciences and a senior research scientist in the Natural Resources Ecology Laboratory at Colorado State University. His main fields of interest include agroecosystem ecology, soil organic matter dynamics, and global change. He is currently leading projects to assess soil carbon sequestration in several states and to develop national inventories of carbon emissions and sequestration. His research also involves the development of ecosystem and economic assessments to advise policy makers on climate change mitigation. He is a leader on the IPCC and the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology task force on agricultural mitigation of greenhouse gases. He is an editor of a recent book Soil Organic Matter in Temperate Agroecosystems: Long-Term Experiments in North America (CRC Press, 1997).

Michael J. Prather is the Fred Kavli Chair and Professor in the Department of Earth System Science at the University of California, Irvine. From 2005 to 2006, he was a Jefferson science fellow at the State Department. His research focuses on simulation of the physical, chemical, and biological processes that determine atmospheric composition, including global chemical transport models that describe ozone and other trace gases. Dr. Prather has played a leading role in international assessments of ozone and climate change. He has served on numerous NRC committees and chaired the Planning Group for the Workshop on Direct and Indirect Human Contributions to Terrestrial Greenhouse Gas Fluxes. He is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and is a member of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Dr. Prather received a Ph.D. in astronomy and astrophysics from Yale and undergraduate degrees in mathematics from Yale and physics from Merton, Oxford.

James T. Randerson is a professor in the Department of Earth System Science at the University of California, Irvine. Dr. Randerson uses trace gas observations from ground- and space-based instruments and models to study the global carbon cycle. He is currently investigating pathways of rapid carbon loss from terrestrial ecosystems, including fire emissions and permafrost degradation. He is a member of the science team for NASA’s Orbiting Carbon Observatory and co-chair of the biogeochemistry working group for the Community Climate System Model. Dr. Randerson is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union and a recipient of the James B. Macelwane Medal. He received a Ph.D. in biological sciences and a B.S. in chemistry from Stanford University.

Pieter P. Tans is senior scientist at the Earth System Research Laboratory of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in Boulder, Colorado. His research interests focus on inverse models and data assimilation, atmospheric chemistry and transport, carbon cycle, and global climate change. His group maintains the world’s largest global monitoring network of atmospheric greenhouse gas concentrations and provides reference gas mixtures to calibrate high-accuracy greenhouse gas measurements worldwide. Dr. Tans has served on several advisory committees related to the carbon cycle and climate. He has received several medals from the Department of Commerce and is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union. He received a Ph.D. in physics and a doctorandus (roughly equivalent to an M.S.) in theoretical physics from Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, The Netherlands.

Steven C. Wofsy is the Abbott Lawrence Rotch Professor of Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences at Harvard University. His work focuses on the chemical composition of the atmosphere, using data analysis and modeling to understand sources, sinks, transformations, and transport of atmospheric trace gases. His research group also develops airborne sensors to make accurate measurements of CO2, CH4, CO, and N2O. He has chaired or been a member of several carbon cycle and NRC advisory committees. Dr. Wofsy is a recipient of the American Geophysical Union’s James B. Macelwane Award and NASA’s Distinguished Public Service Medal. He is a fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He received a Ph.D. in chemistry from Harvard and a B.S. in chemistry from the University of Chicago.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement