Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

tools, experimental studies of visual perception, multimedia, and algorithms for analysis and visualization of genomic DNA sequences. He authored 18 books and more than 100 papers and technical reports. His students included Jerry Hobbs, Ken Kennedy, Robert Kupperman, Stanley Osher, Gian-Carlo Rota, Shmuel Winograd, Clyde Kruskal, and Larry Rudolph. His collaborators included Nelson Dunford (advisor), Martin Davis, John Cocke, Frances Allen, Ralph Grishman, Robert Dewar, Edmond Schoenberg, Alan Gottlieb, W. Daniel Hillis, Micha Sharir, Bud Mishra, Domenico Cantone, Alfredo Ferro, Eugenio Omodeo, Kenneth Perlin, and Michael Wigler.

Jack was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2000 for contributions to the theory and practice of programming language design, compiler technology, and parallel computation. Since his election, he made active contributions to various additional subfields of engineering: robotics with connections to mechanical engineering; multimedia and visualization technologies; and genomics, bioinformatics, and biotechnology. Jack was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1976. His honors included Sloane Fellow, Wilbur Cross Medal (Yale University), Townsend Harris Medal (City University of New York), Steele Prize (American Mathematical Society), and Mayor’s Medal for Contributions to Science and Technology (New York City).

Jack was born to a working-class, immigrant family in the Bronx, New York, on January 9, 1930. He received his bachelor of science degree in 1949 from the City College of New York and his master’s degree in 1949 and Ph.D. degree in 1951 from Yale University. He began his career as a mathematics instructor at Yale and in 1953 was promoted to assistant professor. In 1957, Schwartz joined the faculty at NYU as an associate professor and in 1958 was promoted to the position of full professor. He retired in 2005 but remained a professor emeritus of computer science at the Courant Institute, until his death. He also served as chairman of the Computer Science Board of the National Research Council and was chairman of the National Science Foundation Advisory Committee for Information, Robotics, and Intelligent Systems.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement