Appendix B
Workshop Attendees

Linda Abriola* (NAE)

Dean, School of Engineering

Tufts University

105 Anderson Hall

200 College Ave.

Medford, MA 02155

617.627.3237

engineeringdeansoffice@tufts.edu


Alice Agogino* (NAE)

Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Professor of Mechanical Engineering

University of California at Berkeley

5136 Etcheverry Hall

Mailstop 1740

Berkeley, CA 94720

510.642.6450

agogino@berkeley.edu


John Ahearne* (NAE)

Director, Ethics Programs

The Sigma Xi Center

P.O. Box 13975

99 Alexander Drive

Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

919.547.5213

ahearne@sigmaxi.org


Adjo Amekudzi

Associate Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Georgia Institute of Technology

790 Atlantic Drive

Atlanta, GA 30332

404.894.0404

adjo.amekudzi@ce.gatech.edu

*

Program participant.



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 55
Appendix B Workshop Attendees Linda Abriola* (NAE) John Ahearne* (NAE) Dean, School of Engineering Director, Ethics Programs Tufts University The Sigma Xi Center 105 Anderson Hall P.O. Box 13975 200 College Ave. 99 Alexander Drive Medford, MA 02155 Research Triangle Park, NC 617.627.3237 27709 engineeringdeansoffice@tufts.edu 919.547.5213 ahearne@sigmaxi.org Alice Agogino* (NAE) Roscoe and Elizabeth Hughes Adjo Amekudzi Professor of Mechanical Associate Professor, School of Engineering Civil and Environmental University of California at Engineering Berkeley Georgia Institute of Technology 5136 Etcheverry Hall 790 Atlantic Drive Mailstop 1740 Atlanta, GA 30332 Berkeley, CA 94720 404.894.0404 510.642.6450 adjo.amekudzi@ce.gatech.edu agogino@berkeley.edu *Program participant. 

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Richard O. Anderson* Rosalyn W. Berne Principal Engineer Associate Professor, School of SOMAT Engineering, Inc. Engineering 26445 Northline University of Virginia Taylor, MI 48180 351 McCormick Road 734.946.4966 Thornton Hall A236 Roape1@aol.com Charlottesville, VA 22904 434.924.6098 Nickie Athanason rwb@virginia.edu 1622 N. Highland Street Arlington, VA 22201 Kristen Sanford Bernhardt ndymersky@hotmail.com Assistant Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Caroline Baillie* Engineering DuPont Chair in Engineering Lafayette College Education Research and 310 AEC Development Easton, PA 18042 Queen’s University 610.330.5584 Beamish-Munro Hall, Room 301 sanfordk@lafayette.edu Kingston, ON K7L 3N6 613.533.6249 Carlos Bertha* cbaillie@post.queensu.ca Associate Professor of Philosophy U.S. Air Force Academy Sarah Banas HQ USAFA/DFPY Program Associate 2354 Fairchild Drive, Suite 1A45 American Association for the U.S. Air Force Academy, CO Advancement of Science 80840 1200 New York Avenue, NW 719.333.8655 Washington, DC 20005 carl.bertha@usafa.edu 202.326.6492 sbanas@aaas.org Jason Borenstein Director of Graduate Research Abul Barkat* Ethics Programs Professor, Faculty of Social School of Public Policy Sciences Georgia Institute of Technology University of Dhaka, Bangladesh 685 Cherry Street Ramna, Dhaka—1000 Atlanta, GA 30332 Bangladesh 404.385.2801 880.2.9661920.73 Ext. 6451 jason.borenstein@pubpolicy. hdrc@bangla.net gatech.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Dennis Chamot Danielle Boykin Associate Executive Director, Associate Editor Division on Engineering and National Society of Professional Physical Sciences Engineers The National Academies 1420 King Street 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Alexandria, VA 22314 Washington, DC 20001 703.684.2879 202.334.1355 dboykin@nspe.org dchamot@nas.edu William Brinkman Regina Clewlow* Assistant Professor, Department Energy Fellow of Computer Science MIT Energy Initiative Miami University 77 Massachusetts Avenue Benton Hall, Room 205 E40-455 Oxford, OH 45056 Cambridge, MA 02139 513.907.7165 617.997.1922 brinkmwj@muohio.edu rclewlow@mit.edu George Bugliarello* (NAE) Laura Cooney President Emeritus and Assistant Program Manager University Professor Air Force Office of Scientific Polytechnic Institute of NYU Research 6 MetroTech Center 875 N. Randolph Street Brooklyn, NY 11201 Arlington, VA 22203 718.260.3330 703.696.9517 gbugliar@poly.edu laura.cooney@afosr.af.mil Vincent Caristo David Crocker* Undergraduate Student, School Senior Research Scholar, Institute of Engineering for Philosophy and Public University of Virginia Policy 138 Goodman Street University of Maryland Charlottesville, VA 22902 2101 Van Munching Hall 609.731.6129 College Park, MD 20742 vrc9u@virginia.edu 301.405.4763 dcrocker@umd.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Gary Cruz Ana Ferreras Assistant Director of Programs Program Officer SHPE/AHETEMS The National Academies 416 Yates Street 500 Fifth Street, N.W. P.O. Box 19019 Washington, DC 20001 Arlington, TX 76019 202.334.1697 817.272.1116 aferreras@nas.edu gary.cruz@shpe.org Kevin Finneran John Daly Editor-in-Chief Coordinator Issues in Science and Technology Development Gateway 500 Fifth Street, N.W. 14205 Bauer Drive Washington, DC 20001 Rockville, MD 20853 kfinnera@nas.edu 301.460.6364 202.965.5648 John.Daly@gmail.com Woodie Flowers* (NAE) David Daniel* (NAE) Pappalardo Professor of President Mechanical Engineering University of Texas at Dallas Massachusetts Institute of 800 West Campbell Road Technology Richardson, TX 75080 77 Massachusetts Avenue 972.883.2201 Room 3-43 dedaniel@utdallas.edu Cambridge, MA 02139 617.253.6234 Jonathan Essoka flowers@mit.edu Environmental Engineer/Scientist U.S. Environmental Protection Amy Forrester Agency Managing Editor 1650 Arch Street Sustainability: Science, Practice, 3WP10 & Policy Philadelphia, PA 19103 7200 Wisconsin Avenue 215.814.5774 Suite 601 essoka.jonathan@epa.gov Bethesda, MD 20814 301.961.6722 amy.forrester@proquest.com

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Deborah Goodings Robert Hannemann Professor, Geotechnical Director, Gordon Institute Engineering Program Tufts University University of Maryland 200 Boston Avenue Department of Civil Engineering Suite 2400 College Park, MD 20742 Medford, MA 02155 301.405.1960 617.627.3110 goodings@umd.edu robert.hannemann@tufts.edu Albert Grant Muhammad Haris Chair Professor, Philosophy Engineers Forum on Department Sustainability University of North Carolina, 9036 Willow Valley Drive Charlotte Potomac, MD 20854 9201 University City Boulevard 301.340.8082 Charlotte, NC 28223 aagrant@localnet.com 704.687.2240 M.Haris@uncc.edu Rebekah Green* Research Associate and Grant Ed Harris* Writer Sue and Harry Bovay Professor of Institute for Global and History and Ethics of Community Resilience Professional Engineering Western Washington University Texas A&M University 516 High Street 302G Bolton Hall Environmental Studies, MS 9085 College Station, TX 77843 Bellingham, WA 98225 979.845.5697 360.650.4337 e-harris@philosophy.tamu.edu rebekah.green@wwu.edu Hank Hatch* (NAE) William Gross Former Chief of Engineers Professor and Dean Emeritus U.S. Army University of New Mexico 2715 Silkwood Court 1401 Las Lomas Road N.E. Oakton, VA 22124 Albuquerque, NM 87106 703.476.8895 505.242.5785 hankhatch@aol.com wgross@unm.edu

OCR for page 55
0 APPENDIX B Joe Herkert* Abul Hussam* Lincoln Associate Professor of Professor, Department of Ethics and Technology Chemistry and Biochemistry Arizona State University George Mason University Santa Catalina (SANCA) 250D Fairfax, VA 22030 7001 E. Williams Field Road 703.993.1085 Mesa, AZ 85212 ahussam@gmu.edu 480.727.1548 joseph.herkert@asu.edu Margaret Huyck Professor Laura Hermann Illinois Institute of Technology Director 1718 E. 55th Street Potomac Communications Chicago, IL 60615 1133 20th Street, N.W. 773.667.3649 Suite 400 huyck@iit.edu Washington, DC 20036 202.380.6835 Sheila Jasanoff* lhermann@pcgpr.com Pforzheimer Professor of Science and Technology Studies Robert Hershey John F. Kennedy School of Consultant Government Robert L. Hershey, P.E. Harvard University 1255 New Hampshire Avenue 79 JFK Street, Littauer 354 #1033 Cambridge, MA 02138 Washington, DC 20036 617.495.7902 202.659.9529 sheila_jasanoff@harvard.edu hershey@cpcug.org Jens Kabo Jonathan Herz Doctoral candidate Architect Queen’s University, Canada U.S. General Services 420 Main Street Administration Apartment 81 1800 F Street, N.W. Agawam, MA 01001 Washington, DC 20405 413.563.8630 202.501.3476 jens.kabo@chee.queensu.ca jonathan.herz@gsa.gov

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B William Kelly Daniele Lantagne* Manager of Public Affairs Safe Water System Staff Engineer American Society for Engineering Centers for Disease Control and Education Prevention 1818 N Street, N.W. 1600 Clifton Road N.E. Suite 600 MS-A38 Washington, DC 20036 Atlanta, GA 30333 202.331.3537 404.639.0231 w.kelly@asee.org dlantagne@cdc.gov Samuel Keno Joseph Le Doux* Vocational Training Centers Associate Professor, Department Coordinator of Biomedical Engineering Ethiopia Evangelical Church Georgia Institute of Technology Development Program 313 Ferst Drive, Suite 2127 P.box 81064 Atlanta, GA 30332 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia 404.385.0632 25.191.135.6062 joe.ledoux@bme.gatech.edu ksaamii@yahoo.com Jon Leydens Ron Kline* Associate Professor Bovay Professor in the History Colorado School of Mines and Ethics of Professional 301 Stratton Hall Engineering Golden, CO 80401 Cornell University 303.273.3180 394 Rhodes Hall jleydens@mines.edu Ithaca, NY 14853 607.255.4307 Andrew Light rrk1@cornell.edu Director, Center for Global Ethics Margo Kulkarni George Mason University Undergraduate Student 1736 Columbia Road, N.W. Columbia University Apartment 310 1604 W. Alabama Washington, DC 20009 Houston, TX 77006 917-570-3276 713.732.6956 alight1@gmu.edu mk3046@columbia.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Marshall Lih Carl Mack Senior Advisor Executive Director National Science Foundation National Society of Black 4201 Wilson Boulevard Engineers Room 565.43 205 Daingerfield Road Arlington, VA 22230 Alexandria, VA 22314 703.292.4608 703.549.2207 mlih@nsf.gov rcox@nsbe.org Michael Loui* Guru Madhavan Professor of Electrical and Mirzayan Fellow Computer Engineering The National Academies University of Illinois 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Coordinated Science Laboratory Washington, DC 20001 1308 W Main Street 607.768.4052 Urbana, IL 61801 gmadhavan@gmail.com 217.333.2595 loui@illinois.edu Britney McCoy Doctoral Candidate Garrick Louis* Carnegie Mellon University Associate Professor, 5710 Phillips Avenue Environmental and Water Apartment A-1 Resources Engineering Pittsburgh, PA 15217 The University of Virginia 412.521.4546 Olsson Hall, Office: 102A bmccoy@andrew.cmu.edu 151 Engineer’s Way Charlottesville, VA 22904 Keith Miller* 434.982.2742 Professor of Computer Science gel7f@virginia.edu University of Illinois at Springfield Juan Lucena* One University Plaza Associate Professor, Liberal Arts UIS, CSC, UHB 3100 and International Studies Springfield, IL 62703 Division 217.206.7327 Colorado School of Mines miller.keith@uis.edu Stratton Hall #424 Golden, CO 80401 303.273.3564 jlucena@mines.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Carl Mitcham* Douglas Oliver Director, Hennebach Program in AAAS Science & Technology the Humanities Policy Fellow Colorado School of Mines AAAS (NSF) Stratton Hall #318 1930 N. Van Buren Golden, CO 80401 Arlington, VA 22205 303.273.3648 703.292.5112 cmitcham@mines.edu douglas-oliver@bex.net Driss Moumane Eric Pappas Senior Advisor Associate Professor, School of Catholic Relief Services Engineering 228 W. Lexington Street James Madison University Baltimore, MD 21201 701 Carrier Drive 410.625.2220 MSC 4113 dmoumane@crs.org Harrisonburg, VA 22807 540.568.1694 Priscilla P. Nelson* PappasEC@jmu.edu Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Kevin Passino* Affairs Professor of Electrical and New Jersey Institute of Computer Engineering Technology The Ohio State University 323 Martin Luther King Jr. 205 Dreese Laboratory Boulevard 2015 Neil Avenue Newark, NJ 07102-1982 Columbus, OH 43210 973.596.3220 614.292.5716 pnelson@njit.edu passino@ece.osu.edu Dean Nieusma Kurt Paterson Assistant Professor Director, D80 Center Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Michigan Technological STS Department, Sage 5508 University 110 8th Street 1400 Townsend Drive Troy, NY 12180 Houghton, MI 49931 518.276.6381 906.487.3495 nieusma@rpi.edu paterson@mtu.edu

OCR for page 55
4 APPENDIX B Greg Pearson Donna Riley* Program Officer Associate Professor, Picker National Academy of Engineering Engineering Program 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Smith College Washington, DC 20001 51 College Lane 202.334.2282 Northampton, MA 01063 gpearson@nae.edu 413.585.7003 driley@email.smith.edu Iris Portny Writer/Editor Jen Schneider 4300 Old Dominion Drive Assistant Professor, LAIS #411 Colorado School of Mines Arlington, VA 22207 1005 14th Street 703.526.4532 Stratton Hall 406 iris.portny@cornell.edu Golden, CO 80401 303.273.3628 Fionnuala Quinn jjschnei@mines.edu 12309 Country Ridge Lane Fairfax, VA 22033 Brian Schrag 703.758.0851 Executive Secretary, Association finnQ@aol.com for Practical and Professional Ethics Anu Ramaswami* Indiana University Professor, Environmental 618 East Third Street Engineering Bloomington, IN 47405 University of Colorado, Denver 812.855.6450 College of Engineering and appe@indiana.edu Applied Science Campus Box 113 Kenneth Schug P.O. Box 173364 Professor of Chemistry Denver, CO 80217 Illinois Institute of Technology 303.556.4734 1466 E. Park Place anu.ramaswami@ucdenver.edu Chicago, IL 60637 312.218.3438 kschug@msn.com

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Bruce Seely* Bradley Striebig Professor of History and Chair, Associate Professor Department of Social James Madison University Sciences 3235 Clement Drive Michigan Technological Harrisonburg, VA 22807 University 540.568.8895 1400 Townsend Drive bstriebig@gmail.com Houghton, MI 49931 906.487.2113 Jessica Tucker bseely@mtu.edu AAAS Science Policy Fellow Department of Health and Wesley Shrum* Human Services Professor of Sociology 465 Meadow Road Louisiana State University A&M Apartment 7306 126 Stubbs Hall Princeton, NJ 08540 Baton Rouge, LA 70803 412.654.2065 225.388.5102 jessmtuck@gmail.com shrum@lsu.edu S. Claudia Vargas Karen Smilowitz* Director-Founder/Principal Junior William A. Patterson Chair Investigator in Transportation Complex Systems Optimization Northwestern University Lab 2145 Sheridan Road P.O. Box 1087 Technological Institute M233 Northampton, MA 01061 Evanston, IL 60208 801.362.2862 847.491.4693 scvargas@cosola.org ksmilowitz@northwestern.edu P. Aarne Vesilind Jimmy Smith* Professor of Civil Engineering Director, National Institute for (Retired) Engineering Bucknell University Ethics and Murdough Center for 142 Hilltop Place Engineering Professionalism New London, NH 03257 Texas Tech University 603.526.6011 M.S. 41023 aarne.vesilind@gmail.com Civil Engineering Lubbock, TX 79409 806.742.3476 Jimmy.Smith@ttu.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Bill Wallace* Wm. A. Wulf* (NAE) Founder & President, Wallace President Emeritus, NAE Futures Group University Professor and AT&T Engineers Without Professor of Engineering and Borders—USA Applied Sciences 1400 Overlook Drive University of Virginia Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 151 Engineer’s Way 970.879.1122 Charlottesville, VA 22904 bill.wallace@wallacefutures.com 434.982.2223 Wulf@virginia.edu Dennis Warner* Senior Technical Advisor David Zumbrunnen Catholic Relief Services Warren H. Owen Duke Energy 228 W. Lexington Street Distinguished Professor Baltimore, MD 21201 Clemson University 410.625.2220 221 Fluor Daniel Building dwarner@crs.org Clemson, SC 29634 864.656.5625 Richard Weibl zdavid@clemson.edu Director, Center for Careers in Science Secretariat AAAS Rachelle Hollander 1200 New York Avenue, N.W. Director, Center for Engineering, Washington, DC 20005 Ethics, and Society 202.326.6674 National Academy of Engineering rweibl@aaas.org 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 Caroline Whitbeck 202.334.3068 Elmer G. Beamer–Hubert H. rhollander@nae.edu Schneider Professor in Ethics Case Western Reserve University Jessica Buono 193 Long Bow Lane West Research Associate Becket, MA 01223 National Academy of Engineering 412.623.5714 500 Fifth Street, N.W. cw07@onlineethics.org Washington, DC 20001 202.334.1547 jbuono@nae.edu

OCR for page 55
 APPENDIX B Nathan Kahl Jacqueline Martin Program Associate Senior Program Assistant National Academy of Engineering National Academy of Engineering 500 Fifth Street, N.W. 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 Washington, DC 20001 202.334.2226 202.334.1628 nkahl@nae.edu jmartin@nae.edu

OCR for page 55