where he helped win the Orbcomm Second Generation program with a satellite order to build 18 satellites with an option for 30 more. He also was the proposal manager and program manager for the Operationally Responsive Space Multi-Mission Space Vehicle. He has been with SNC since October 2006. Before working at Sierra Nevada Space Systems he worked at Lockheed Martin on NASA’s plans to return to the Moon, served as an assistant professor at Utah State University in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department, worked at the Aerospace Corporation, where he also taught at the University of California, Los Angeles, and also worked for General Dynamics. Dr. Mosher has a Ph.D. and an M.S. in aerospace engineering from the University of Colorado; an M.S. in systems engineering from the University of Alabama, Huntsville; and a B.S. in aerospace engineering from San Diego State University. He has authored 50 professional publications (journal and conference papers). Dr. Mosher has taught students from around the world and advised several winning student competition teams. As an associate fellow he held many leadership positions in the AIAA. He was a finalist in the 2009 NASA astronaut selection.

ELI RESHOTKO is the Kent H. Smith Professor Emeritus of Engineering at Case Western Reserve University. His area of expertise is viscous effects in external and internal aerodynamics; two- and three-dimensional compressible boundary layers and heat transfer; stability and transition of viscous flows, both incompressible and compressible; and low-drag technology for aircraft and underwater vehicles. He has expertise in propulsion engineering, thermodynamics, aerodynamics, and aircraft propulsion. He is a fellow of the AIAA, ASME, the American Physical Society, and the American Academy of Mechanics, for which he served as president. He is co-author of more than 100 publications and is affiliated with many task forces, committees, and governing boards, and on several he served as chair. Dr. Reshotko received a Ph.D. in aeronautics and physics from the California Institute of Technology, a master’s of mechanical engineering from Cornell University, and a bachelor of mechanical engineering from the Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art. Dr. Reshotko is a member of the NAE and currently serves as the NAE Section 1 liaison members’ chair. His NRC service includes membership on the Committee for the Evaluation of NASA’s Fundamental Aeronautics Research Program, the Committee on Analysis of Air Force Engine Efficiency Improvement Options for Large Non-Fighter Aircraft, and the Committee on Assessment of Aircraft Winglets for Large Aircraft Fuel Efficiency.

JAMES M. TIEN is the dean of the University of Miami’s College of Engineering. He formerly served as the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s (RPI’s) Yamada Corporation Professor, was founding chair of its Department of Decision Sciences and Engineering Systems, and was a professor in the Department of Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering. Dr. Tien joined RPI in 1977 and twice served as its acting dean of engineering. In 2001 he was elected to the NAE. His research interests include systems modeling, public policy, decision analysis, and information systems. He has served on the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers board of directors (2000-2004) and was its vice president in charge of the Publication Services and Products Board and the Educational Activities Board. Dr. Tien earned his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from RPI and his Ph.D. in systems engineering and operations research from MIT. Dr. Tien is currently serving on the NRC Committee on Assessing Medical Preparedness for a Nuclear Event—A Workshop, and served on several other NRC committees.

CANDACE E. WARK is a professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), where she has been on the faculty for 20 years. She is a member of IIT’s Fluid Dynamics Research Center, where she focuses on experimental fluid mechanics, with particular interest in turbulence and bluff-body flows. Dr. Wark received the National Science Foundation’s Presidential Young Investigator Award in 1990. She spent nearly 2 years as a program manager for the turbulence program at the Office of Naval Research. Dr. Wark is an active member of the American Physical Society, the AIAA, and the ASME. She received a B.S. and an M.S. in mechanical engineering at Michigan State University and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering at IIT. She has served on the NRC’s Panel to Review Air Force Office of Scientific Research Proposals in Fluids.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement