and leadership in automotive engineering. She is a fellow of SAE International and was its president in 2000. In 2003 she received the Internal Combustion Engine Award of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME). Dr. Baranescu received her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering in 1961 and 1970, respectively, from the Politechnica University in Bucharest, Romania, where she served as assistant professor (1964-1968), lecturer (1970-1974), and associate professor (1974-1978).

Jay Baron is president of the Center for Automotive Research (CAR) and the director of its Manufacturing, Engineering and Technology Group. Dr. Baron’s recent research has focused on developing new methods for the analysis and validation of sheet metal processes, including die making, tool and die tryout, and sheet metal assembly processes. He also developed functional build procedures that result in lower tooling costs and shorter development lead times, while improving quality—particularly with sheet metal assemblies. He also has been researching new technologies in the auto industry, including looking at body shop design and flexibility and evaluating the manufacturing capability of evolving technologies. He recently completed investigations on state-of-the-art tailor-welded blank technologies, the economics of weld-bond adhesives, and the analysis of car door quality and construction methods. Before becoming first the director of manufacturing systems at CAR and then president, Dr. Baron was the manager of manufacturing systems at the Office for the Study of Automotive Transportation at the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute. He also worked for Volkswagen of America in quality assurance and as staff engineer and project manager at the Industrial Technology Institute in Ann Arbor and at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s Center for Manufacturing Productivity in Troy, New York. Dr. Baron holds a Ph.D. and a master’s degree in industrial and operations engineering from the University of Michigan and an M.B.A. from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

David Friedman is the research director of the Clean Vehicles Program of the Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS), Washington, D.C. He is the author or coauthor of more than 30 technical papers and reports on advancements in conventional, fuel cell, and hybrid electric vehicles and alternative energy sources with an emphasis on clean and efficient technologies. Before joining UCS in 2001, he worked for the University of California, Davis, in the fuel cell vehicle modeling program, developing simulation tools to evaluate fuel cell technology for automotive applications. He worked there on University of California’s FutureCar team to build a hybrid electric family car that doubled its fuel economy. He also once worked at Arthur D. Little researching fuel cell, battery electric, and hybrid electric vehicle technologies, as well as photovoltaics. He served as a member of the NRC Panel on the Benefits of Fuel Cell R&D of the Committee on Prospective Benefits of DOE’s Energy Efficiency and Fossil Energy R&D Programs, Phase 1, and is currently a member of the NRC Committee on National Tire Efficiency. He earned a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from Worcester Polytechnic Institute and is a doctoral candidate in transportation technology and policy at the University of California, Davis.

David Greene is a corporate fellow at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL). He has spent more than 20 years researching transportation and energy policy issues. His research interests include energy demand modeling, economic analysis of petroleum dependence, modeling market responses to advanced transportation technologies and alternative—fuels, economic analysis of policies to mitigate greenhouse gas emissions from transportation, and developing theory and methods for measuring the sustainability of transportation systems. After joining ORNL in 1977, he founded the Transportation Energy Group in 1980 and in 1987 established the Transportation Research Section. Dr. Greene spent 1988 to 1989 in Washington, D.C., as a senior research analyst in the Office of Domestic and International Energy Policy, at the Department of Energy (DOE). He has published more than 150 articles in professional journals, written contributions to books and technical reports, and given congressional testimony on transportation and energy issues. From 1997 to 2000 Dr. Greene served as the first editor-in-chief of the Journal of Transportation and Statistics, the only scholarly periodical published by the U.S. Department of Transportation. He currently serves on the editorial boards of Transportation Research D, Energy Policy, Transportation Quarterly, and the Journal of Transportation and Statistics. Active in the Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the NRC, Dr. Greene has served on several standing and ad hoc committees. He is past chairman and member emeritus of TRB’s Energy Committee, was past chair of the Section on Environmental and Energy Concerns, and was a recipient of TRB’s Pyke Johnson Award. Dr. Greene received a B.A. degree from Columbia University in 1971, an M.A. from the University of Oregon in 1973, and a Ph.D. in geography and environmental engineering from the Johns Hopkins University in 1978.

Linos Jacovides (NAE) recently retired as director, Delphi Research Labs, a position he held from 1998 to 2007. Dr. Jacovides joined General Motors Research and Development in 1967 and became department head of electrical engineering in 1985. He is a fellow of the IEEE. His areas of research were the interactions between power electronics and electrical machines in electric vehicles and locomotives. He later transitioned to Delphi with a group of researchers from GM to set up the Delphi Research Laboratories. He received a B.S. in electrical engineering and a master’s in machine theory from the University of Glasgow, Scotland. He received a Ph.D. in generator control systems from the Imperial College, University of London, in 1965.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement