John H. Johnson is a presidential professor emeritus in the Department of Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics at Michigan Technological University (MTU) and a fellow of the SAE and the ASME. His experience spans a wide range of analysis and experimental work on advanced engine concepts, diesel and other internal engine emissions studies, fuel systems, and engine simulation. He was previously project engineer at the U.S. Army Tank Automotive Center, and chief engineer in applied engine research at the International Harvester Company before joining the MTU mechanical engineering faculty. He served as chairman of the MTU mechanical engineering and engineering mechanics department from 1986 to 1993. He has served on many committees related to engine technology, engine emissions, and health effects—for example, committees of the SAE, the NRC, the Combustion Institute, the Health Effects Institute, and the Environmental Protection Agency—and consults to a number of government and private sector institutions. In particular, he served on many NRC committees, including the Committee on Fuel Economy of Automobiles and Light Trucks, the Committee on Advanced Automotive Technologies Plan, the Committee on the Impact and Effectiveness of Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) Standards, and the Committee to Assess Fuel Economy for Medium and HeavyDuty Vehicles. He chaired the NRC Committee on Review of DOE’s Office of Heavy Vehicle Technologies and the NRC Committee on Review of the 21st Century Truck partnership. He received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Wisconsin.

John G. Kassakian (NAE) is professor of electrical engineering and director of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s (MIT’s) Laboratory for Electromagnetic and Electronic Systems. His expertise is in the use of electronics for the control and conversion of electrical energy, industrial and utility applications of power electronics, electronic manufacturing technologies, and automotive electrical and electronic systems. Before joining the MIT faculty, he served in the U.S. Navy. Dr. Kassakian is on the boards of directors of a number of companies and has held numerous positions with the IEEE, including founding president of the IEEE Power Electronics Society. He is a member of the NAE, a fellow of the IEEE, and a recipient of the IEEE’s William E. Newell Award for Outstanding Achievements in Power Electronics (1987), the IEEE Centennial Medal (1984), and the IEEE Power Electronics Society’s Distinguished Service Award (1998). He has served on a number of NRC committees, including the Committee on Review of the Research Program of the Partnership for a New Generation of Vehicles and the Review of the FreedomCAR and Fuel Research Program. He has an Sc.D. in electrical engineering from MIT.

Roger B. Krieger is currently an adjunct professor at the engine research center of the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Before that, he was laboratory group manager, Compression Ignition Engine Systems Group at the Powertrain Systems Research Laboratory. He also held a position at the Institut Francais du Petrôle, Applications Division, Rueil-Malmaison, in France. Dr. Krieger has approximately 35 years of research and development experience in internal combustion engines, especially diesel engines and combustion. He holds approximately 10 patents related to engine and emissions control technologies. He served as vice-chair and chair of the Diesel Engine Committee, SAE. He has a B.S. and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Gary W. Rogers is president, chief executive officer, and sole director, FEV, Inc. His previous positions included director, Power Plant Engineering Services Division, and senior analytical engineer, Failure Analysis Associates, Inc.; design development engineer, Garrett Turbine Engine Company; and Exploration Geophysicist, Shell Oil Company. He has extensive experience in research, design, and development of advanced engine and powertrain systems, including homogeneous and direct-injected gasoline engines, high-speed direction injection passenger car diesel engines, heavy-duty diesel engines, hybrid vehicle systems, gas turbines, pumps, and compressors. He provides corporate leadership for a multinational research, design, and development organization specializing in engines and energy systems. He is a member of the SAE, is an advisor to the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency on heavyfuel engines, and sits on the advisory board to the College of Engineering and Computer Science, Oakland University, Rochester, Michigan. He served as a member of the NRC Committee on Review of DOE’s Office of Heavy Vehicle Technologies Program, the NRC Committee on the Effectiveness and Impact of Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) Standards, and the NRC Panel on Benefits of DOE’s Light-Duty Hybrid Vehicle R&D Program. He also recently supported the Department of Transportation’s National Highway Traffic Safety Administration by conducting a peer review of the NHTSA CAFE Model. He has a B.S.M.E. from Northern Arizona University.

Robert F. Sawyer (NAE) is the Class of 1935 Professor of Energy Emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley. He is a member of the NAE and recently served as chair of the California Air Resources Board. His previous positions include research engineer and chief, Liquid Systems Analysis, U.S. Air Force Rocket Propulsion Laboratory; member of the research staff, Princeton University; member, California Air Resources Board; and chair, Energy and Resources Group, University of California, Berkeley. He is a past president of the Combustion Institute. His research includes combustion chemistry, pollutant formation and control, engine emissions, toxic waste incineration, alternative fuels, and regulatory policy. Dr. Sawyer served on numerous National Research Council committees, including the Committee for

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement