Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel

the Department of Chemistry. He has also held an appointment in the School of Public Policy Studies at the university. He has held a number of positions including visiting professor at the University of Copenhagen, the Université de Paris-Sud, and Oxford University, where he was the Newton-Abraham Professor in 1986. He spent 1994 at the Freie Universität Berlin as an awardee of the Humboldt Prize. In 1983 he was awarded a MacArthur Fellowship. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. In 1997, he received the Heyrovsky Medal of the Czech Academy of Sciences. One aspect of his scientific research has been theoretical, in areas of finite-time thermodynamics, atomic collisions, atomic and molecular clusters and chaos, topographies and dynamics of complex potential surfaces, clusters and proteins. Another facet has been experimental, involving studies of negative ions, chemical reactions, detection of transient molecular species, photoionization and other laser-matter interactions. He has also worked in matters of scientific ethics and of some aspects of national security. His current scientific interests include the dynamics of atomic and molecular clusters, the basis of "guided" protein folding and other "structure-seeking" processes, and the thermodynamics of time-constrained processes and the efficient use of energy. He attended Harvard University where he received his A.B., A.M., and Ph.D. degrees in chemistry.

Sue B. Clark is professor and chair of the Chemistry Department at Washington State University (WSU). Her current research focuses on the environmental chemistry of plutonium and other actinides, and development of radioanalytical methods to measure actinide elements in environmental samples. Prior to joining WSU in 1996, she was an assistant research ecologist at the University of Georgia's Savannah River Ecology Laboratory, and senior scientist at Westinghouse Savannah River Company's Savannah River Technology Center (1989-1992). Dr. Clark has served as a consultant to the Nuclear Energy Agency of France, the Korean Atomic Energy Research Institute, and the Battelle Memorial Institute and several committees of the National Research Council. Dr. Clark has received several awards, including the Westinghouse Professorship (2000 to present), Ford Lecturer at Minnesota State University, the Edward R. Meyer Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, the Young Faculty Achievement Award in the College of Sciences at WSU. She is a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society. Dr. Clark received her Ph.D. degree in inorganic and radiochemistry from Florida State University. She has served on several National Research Council committees, and she currently serves on its Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board.

Jay C. Davis is president of the Fannie and John Hertz Foundation. Previously, Dr. Davis was a scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory where he served as the first national security fellow at the Center for Global Security Research. He previously served as the founding director of the Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA) of the United States Department of Defense (DOD). His current interests are homeland defense, nuclear and biological forensics, applications of accelerator technologies to multi-disciplinary research, counterforce technologies, and strategic planning and management of change in organizations. Dr. Davis has over 80 publications on research in nuclear physics, nuclear instrumentation, plasma physics, accelerator design and technology, nuclear analytical techniques and analytical methods, and treaty verification technologies. He also holds patents on spectrometer technologies and methods for low-level dosimetry of carcinogens and mutagens and for the study of metabolic processes. He has been a scientific advisor to the UN Secretariat and has served on advisory committees for the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement