en’s Health Initiative, which is funded through the NHLBI. In March 2005, she became the Acting Director, NCRR and was named Director in April 2007. Dr. Alving is a Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences in Bethesda, a Master in the American College of Physicians, a former member of the subcommittee on Hematology of the American Board of Internal Medicine, and a previous member of the FDA Blood Products Advisory Committee. She is a co-inventor on two patents, has edited three books, and has published more than 100 papers in the area of thrombosis and hemostasis.

Margaret Anderson is Executive Director of FasterCures/The Center for Accelerating Medical Solutions, defining the organization’s strategic priorities and positions on key issues, developing its programmatic portfolio, and managing its operations. Prior to her appointment, she was FasterCures’ COO for 5 years. Ms. Anderson previously served as deputy director of the Academy for Educational Development and led programs and studies at the Society for Women’s Health Research, the American Public Health Association and the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment. She serves on the boards of the Alliance for a Stronger FDA and the Council for American Medical Innovation. She holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Maryland and a master’s degree in science, technology and public policy from George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs.

Gail H. Cassell, Ph.D., is currently Vice President, Scientific Affairs, and Distinguished Lilly Research Scholar for Infectious Diseases, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, Indiana. She is former Charles H. McCauley Professor and Chair of the Department of Microbiology, University of Alabama Schools of Medicine and Dentistry at Birmingham, a department that ranked first in research funding from the NIH during the decade of her leadership. She obtained her B.S. from the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa and in 1993 was selected as one of the top 31 female graduates of the twentieth century. She obtained her Ph.D. in microbiology from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and was selected as its 2003 Distinguished Alumnus. She is past President of the American Society for Microbiology (the oldest and single largest life sciences organization, with a membership of more than 42,000). She was a member of the NIH Director’s Advisory Committee and of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. She was named to the original Board of Scientific Councilors of the Center for Infectious Diseases, CDC, and served as chair of the board. She recently served a 3-year term on the advisory board of the Director of CDC and as a member of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement