Colwell holds a BSEE from the University of Pittsburgh and an MSEE and a PhD from Carnegie Mellon University.

William J. Dally, NAE, is the Willard R. and Inez Kerr Bell Professor of Engineering at Stanford University and chair of the Computer Science Department. He is also chief scientist and vice president of NVIDIA Research. He has done pioneering development work at Bell Telephone Laboratories, the California Institute of Technology, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he was a professor of electrical engineering and computer science. At Stanford University, his group has developed the Imagine processor, which introduced the concepts of stream processing and partitioned register organizations. Dr. Dally has worked with Cray Research and Intel to incorporate many of those innovations into commercial parallel computers and with Avici Systems to incorporate the technology into Internet routers, and he cofounded Velio Communications to commercialize high-speed signaling technology and Stream Processors to commercialize stream-processor technology. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and has received numerous honors, including the ACM Maurice Wilkes award. He has published more than 150 papers and is an author of the textbooks Digital Systems Engineering (Cambridge University Press, 1998) and Principles and Practices of Interconnection Networks (Morgan Kaufmann, 2003). Dr. Dally is a member of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB) and was a member of the CSTB committee that produced the report Getting up to Speed: The Future of Supercomputing.

Dan Dobberpuhl, NAE, cofounder, president, and CEO of P. A. Semi, has been credited with developing fundamental breakthroughs in the evolution of high-speed and low-power microprocessors. Before starting P. A. Semi, Mr. Dobberpuhl was vice president and general manager of the broadband processor division of Broadcom Corporation. He came to Broadcom via an acquisition of his previous company, SiByte, Inc., founded in 1998, which was sold to Broadcom in 2000. Before that, he worked for Digital Equipment Corporation for more than 20 years, where he was credited with creating some of the most fundamental breakthroughs in microprocessing technology. In 1998, EE Times named Mr. Dobberpuhl as one of the “40 forces to shape the future of the Semiconductor Industry.” In 2003, he was awarded the prestigious IEEE Solid State Circuits Award for “pioneering design of high-speed and low-power microprocessors.” In 2006, Mr. Dobberpuhl was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for “innovative design and implementation of high-performance, low-power microprocessors.” Mr. Dobberpuhl holds

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement