This report has been reviewed in draft form by an individual chosen for his perspective and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the NRC's Report Review Committee. The purpose of this independent review is to provide candid and critical comments that will assist the institution in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the report meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the study charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We wish to thank the following individual for his review of this report:

Sean Eddy, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Janelia Farm Research Campus

Although the reviewer listed above has provided many constructive comments and suggestions, he was not asked to endorse the conclusions. In addition, he was asked to ensure that an independent examination of this report was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this report rests entirely with the authoring committee and the institution.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 20
BOARD ON CHEMICAL SCIENCES AND TECHNOLOGY CO-CHAIRS RYAN R. DIRKX, Arkema Inc., King of Prussia, Pennsylvania C. DALE POULTER, University of Utah, Salt Lake City MEMBERS ZHENAN BAO, Stanford University, California ROBERT BERGMAN, University of California, Berkeley HENRY BRYNDZA, E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company, Wilmington, Delaware EMILY CARTER, Princeton University, New Jersey PABLO DEBENEDETTI, Princeton University, New Jersey MARY JANE HAGENSON, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company, LLC, The Woodlands, Texas CAROL J. HENRY, The George Washington University, Washington, D.C. JILL HRUBY, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico CHARLES E. KOLB, Aerodyne Research, Inc., Billerica, Massachusetts JOSEF MICHL, University of Colorado, Boulder MARK A. RATNER, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois ROBERT E. ROBERTS, Institute for Defense Analyses, Washington, D.C. DARLENE J. S. SOLOMON, Agilent Laboratories, Santa Clara, California ERIK J. SORENSEN, Princeton University, New Jersey JEAN TOM, Bristol-Myers Squibb, West Windsor, New Jersey WILLIAM C. TROGLER, University of California, San Diego DAVID WALT, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL STAFF DOROTHY ZOLANDZ, Director AMANDA CLINE, Administrative Assistant DOUGLAS FRIEDMAN, Program Officer KATHRYN HUGHES, Program Officer TINA M. MASCIANGIOLI, Senior Program Officer SHEENA SIDDIQUI, Research Associate RACHEL YANCEY, Program Assistant 20