Medicine (ACSM), the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research, and the Endocrine Society, among other professional societies. Dr. Kohrt received her B.S. in physical education and mathematics from the University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point, and her M.S. and Ph.D. in exercise science from Arizona State University; she completed postdoctoral research training in applied physiology and gerontology at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. She has extensive advisory committee experience as both member and chair, including service on NASA program reviews and such high-profile committees as the U.S. Physical Activity Guidelines Advisory Committee.

LARS BERGLUND is a professor of medicine, the associate dean for research, and the director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH)-funded Clinical and Translational Science Center (CTSC) at the University of California, Davis (UC Davis); he also serves as a physician at the Sacramento VA [Department of Veterans Affairs] Medical Center. He received his Ph.D. in 1977 and his M.D. in 1981, both from Uppsala University, Sweden. His internship and residency in internal medicine and clinical chemistry were completed at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden, where he served as a faculty member in the Department of Clinical Chemistry (1986-1993). Dr. Berglund was recruited to Columbia University as a Florence Irving Associate Professor of Medicine in 1993 and became professor of medicine in 2000. He served as the associate director for the Columbia University General Clinical Research Center (GCRC) from 1997. In 2002, he was recruited to UC Davis, and in 2004 he became the first program director of the UC Davis GCRC. Dr. Berglund became the first assistant dean of clinical research at UC Davis in 2004 and the associate dean of clinical and translational research in 2006. Also in 2006 he became the first director of the NIH-funded UC Davis CTSC. In 2009, Dr. Berglund assumed the position of associate dean for research in the UC Davis School of Medicine. As CTSC director, Dr. Berglund ensures that administrative, patient care, and research reporting procedures are carried out in conformity with NIH, UC Davis, and VA policies. In addition, he sets goals and standards for the CTSC, encourages investigators to utilize the CTSC, and fosters collaborations between clinical and basic science investigators. He serves on several Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) consortium committees and was a co-chair for the CTSA Consortium Oversight Committee (2006-2008). Dr. Berglund’s research focus is in the area of lipoprotein metabolism and cardiovascular disease, and his research is funded by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. He has published more than 190 peer-reviewed papers and is a member of the editorial board of seven journals, including Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Biology, the Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, and Clinical and Translational Science. He serves on numerous advisory boards and is a member of the American Heart Association Peer Review Committee and of the Clinical Guidelines subcommittee of the Endocrine Society, and he serves as chair of the NIH AIDS, Clinical Research and Epidemiology Study Section.

NICHOLAS P. BIGELOW is the Lee A. DuBridge Professor of Physics and Optics, the chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, and a senior scientist at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics at the University of Rochester. Dr. Bigelow’s research interests are in the areas of quantum optics and quantum physics. His recent work has focused on the creation and study of ultracold quantum gases, the manipulation and control of atomic motion using light pressure forces, the laser cooling and trapping of atoms and molecules, Bose-Einstein condensation, and the basic quantum nature of the atom-photon interaction. Prior to joining the faculty at the University of Rochester, Dr. Bigelow was a member of the technical staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories. He then went to the Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris, France, where he worked in the Laboratoire Kastler-Brossel. In addition to receiving numerous awards, including a Young Investigator Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and a Packard Foundation Fellowship, Dr. Bigelow was the chair of the Fundamental Physics Discipline Working Group in the NASA Microgravity Physics Program. He received his B.S. in engineering physics and in electrical engineering from Lehigh University, and his M.S. and Ph.D. in physics from Cornell University. Dr. Bigelow has served on numerous advisory committees for organizations including the National Research Council, NASA, NSF, and the Department of Energy (DOE).

LEONARD H. CAVENY is an aerospace consultant and former director of science and technology for the Ballistic Missile Defense Organization. His previous experience also includes service as the deputy director of inno-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement