Robert C. Dynes, chairman of the committee, is a professor of physics at the San Diego and Berkeley campuses of the University of California, where he directs laboratories that focus on superconductivity. From 2003 until 2008, he served as the 18th president of the University of California (UC) and before that as chancellor of UC San Diego. As a professor, he founded an interdisciplinary laboratory in which chemists, electrical engineers, and private industry researchers investigated the properties of metals, semiconductors, and superconductors. Prior to joining the UC faculty, he had a 22-year career at AT&T Bell Laboratories, where he served as department head of semiconductor and material physics research and director of chemical physics research. Dr. Dynes received the 1990 Fritz London Award in Low Temperature Physics, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1989, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He serves on the Executive Committee of the U.S. Council on Competitiveness. A native of London, Ontario, Canada, and a naturalized U.S. citizen, Dr. Dynes holds a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and physics and an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University of Western Ontario, and master’s and doctorate degrees in physics and an honorary doctor of science degree from McMaster University. He also holds an honorary doctorate from L’Université de Montréal.

Richard E. Blahut is the Henry Magnuski Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois and the head of that department. He also holds the title of research professor in the Coordinated Science Laboratory. From 1964 to 1994, Blahut was employed in the Federal Systems Division of IBM, where he had general responsibility for the analysis and design of coherent signal processing systems, digital communications systems, and statistical information processing systems. He was responsible for the original development of passive coherent location systems, now a major technique used in the U.S. Department of Defense. Other contributions to industry include the development of error-control codes for the transmission of messages to the Tomahawk missile, codes to protect text data transmitted via the U.S. public broadcasting network, and the design of a damage-resistant bar code for the British Royal Mail. Dr. Blahut has authored a series of advanced textbooks and monographs in error-control coding, information theory, and signal processing, including ten books either published or in manuscript form. Dr. Blahut served as president of the Information Theory Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) in 1982, and was editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Information Theory from 1992 until 1995. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1990. He is a fellow of the IEEE. He is the recipient of the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell Medal, the IEEE Claude E. Shannon Award, the Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award, and an IEEE Millennium Medal. He received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Cornell University.

Robert R. Borchers, a physicist and expert in computation, is chief technology officer for the Maui High Performance Computing Center at the University of Hawaii. Prior to joining the University of Hawaii, he served eight years at the National Science Foundation as director of the Division of Advanced Computational Infrastructure and Research. Earlier in his career, he was a professor of physics before holding several high-level management positions in universities and laboratories, including associate director for computation at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Colorado – Boulder and the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and director of the Physical Sciences Laboratory at Madison. Dr. Borchers has received numerous awards and is a fellow of the American Physical Society. Dr. Borchers received his B.S. degree from the University of Notre Dame and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, all in physics.

Roger L. Hagengruber is the director of the Office for Policy, Security and Technology (OPS&T) and the Institute for Public Policy (IPP) and a research professor (political science and physics) at the University of New Mexico. Previously, he served as chief security officer and chief cyber security officer for Los Alamos National Laboratory and as a senior vice president at Sandia National Laboratories and directed Sandia’s primary mission in nuclear weapons during the transition following the end of the Cold War. Dr. Hagengruber spent much of his 30-year career at Sandia in arms control and non-proliferation

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement