effects of sleep loss, disturbances of circadian biology, and stress, and the implications of these unmitigated effects on health and safety. He currently leads the Neurobehavioral and Psychosocial Factors Team for the National Space Biomedical Research Institute. He has been president of the U.S. Sleep Research Society and of the World Federation of Sleep Research and Sleep Medicine Societies, and he has served on the board of directors of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine and the National Sleep Foundation. He is currently editor-in-chief of Sleep. His awards include the 2004 Decade of Behavior Research Award from the American Psychological Association and the 2007 NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal. He has an A.B. in psychology from Saint Benedict’s College, a M.S. in physiological psychology from Saint Louis University, an honorary M.A. from the University of Pennsylvania, and a Ph.D. in physiological psychology from Saint Louis University.

R. Curtis Graeber is the president of The Graeber Group, Ltd. Previously, he served as the chief engineer for human factors and director of regional safety programs at Boeing Commercial Airplanes and in other several management positions in research, airplane design, and safety. He also led Boeing’s efforts to improve regional safety, including industry development and implementation of the global aviation safety roadmap. Before joining Boeing, he led the flight crew fatigue research program at NASA’s Ames Research Center and served as chief of flight human factors. He also served as the human factors specialist for the Presidential Commission on the Space Shuttle Challenger Accident. He is a fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society and the Aerospace Medical Association. He has chaired working groups for the Federal Aviation Administration, the Flight Safety Foundation, and the International Civil Aviation Organization. His safety-related awards include the Guild of Air Pilots and Air Navigators’ Cumberbatch Trophy and the Aerospace Medical Association’s Boothby-Edwards Award. He serves as chair of Air New Zealand’s Independent Alertness Advisory Panel, and he is a member of the Board of Directors of the National Sleep Foundation. He received a Ph.D. in neuropsychology from the University of Virginia.

John K. Lauber is a private consultant. Previously, he served as senior vice president and chief product safety officer for Airbus SAS in Toulouse, France, as vice president of safety and technical affairs for Airbus North America, and as vice president of training and human factors for Airbus Service Company. Prior to joining Airbus he was vice president of corporate safety and compliance at Delta Air Lines. Both Presidents Ronald Reagan and George H.W. Bush appointed him to terms as a member of the National Transportation Safety Board. He has served as chief of the Aeronautical Human Factors Research Office for NASA Ames Research Center, where he was instrumental in the development of advanced flight crew training concepts that are now used by airlines around the world. He is a commercial pilot, with both airplane and helicopter ratings and is type-rated in the B727 and the A320. His numerous awards include NASA’s Outstanding Leadership Award and the Boeing/Flight Safety Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aviation Safety He has served as president of the International Federation of Airworthiness and the Association for Aviation Psychology. He holds a Ph.D. degree in neuropsychology from Ohio State University (1969).

David E. Meyer is a faculty member of the Cognition and Cognitive Neuroscience Program in the Department of Psychology at the University of Michigan. Previously, he worked in the Human Information Processing Research Department at the Bell Telephone Laboratories. His

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement