Dr. Burke also serves as an associate editor for the journal Ecological Applications and is the new chair of the advisory committee for the Greater Yellowstone National Environmental Observatory Network research site. She received her Ph.D. in botany from the University of Wyoming.

Wallace E. Tyner (cochair from May 9, 2011) is the James and Lois Ackerman Professor of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University and co-director of the Purdue Center for Research on Energy Systems and Policy. His research interests are in the areas of energy, agricultural, and natural resource policy analysis, and structural and sectoral adjustment in developing economies. His work in energy economics has encompassed oil, natural gas, coal, oil shale, biomass, ethanol from agricultural sources, and solar energy. Most of his recent work has focused on economic and policy analysis for biofuels, with international work on agricultural trade and policy issues in developing economies. Dr. Tyner received the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association (AAEA) Distinguished Policy Contribution Award in 2005. In 2007 he received the “Energy Patriot Award” from Senator Richard Lugar. In 2009, he was named the Outstanding Graduate Educator in the College of Agriculture, received the College Team award (with colleagues) for biofuel research, and received (with colleagues) the AAEA Quality of Communication award. He teaches a graduate course in benefit-cost analysis. Dr. Tyner is author or co-author of three books: Energy Resources and Economic Development in India, Western Coal: Promise or Problem (with R. J. Kalter), and A Perspective on U.S. Farm Problems and Agricultural Policy (with Lance McKinzie and Tim Baker). Dr. Tyner has a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Maryland.

Virginia H. Dale is director of the Center for BioEnergy Sustainability, corporate fellow, and group leader of the Landscape Ecology and Regional Analysis Group in the Environmental Sciences Division at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. She is also an adjunct professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and the Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries at the University of Tennessee. Dr. Dale’s primary research interests are in landscape design for bioenergy, environmental decision-making, land-use change, landscape ecology, and ecological modeling. She has worked on developing tools for resource management, vegetation recovery subsequent to disturbances, effects of climate change on forests, and integrating socioeconomic and ecological models of land-use change. Dr. Dale has served on national scientific advisory boards for five federal agencies (the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Defense, Energy, and Interior). She has also served on several NRC committees. She is editor-in-chief of the journal Environmental Management and is on the editorial board for Ecological Indicators, Ecological Economics, and the Journal of Land Use Science. She was chair of the U.S. Regional Association of the International Association for Landscape Ecology and has served on the scientific review team for The Nature Conservancy. She served on the Executive Committee of the Policy Team for Southern Appalachian Assessment, which won Vice President Gore’s Hammer Award. Dr. Dale has a Ph.D. in mathematical ecology from the University of Washington.

Kathleen E. Halvorsen is an associate professor of natural resource policy at Michigan Technological University. She has a joint appointment with the Department of Social Sciences and the School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science. Her research focuses on two main areas. One relates to the development of woody bioenergy in the United States and includes identification of barriers and opportunities related to this development. She views bioenergy as an important tool in the climate change mitigation toolbox. Her other

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement