9:50-10:30 (40 min)


Erich Martel, Social Studies, Woodrow Wilson Senior High School; Executive Board, Washington Teachers’ Union

Marni Baron, Chairperson, Washington Teachers’ Union, IMPACT Evaluation Task Force

Tynika Young, Academy Coordinator, Rising Academy, Ballou Senior High School

10:35-11:15 (40 min)


Jennifer Niles, Founder and Head of School, E.L. Haynes Charter

Darren Woodruff, DC Public Charter Schools Board

Naomi Rubin DeVeaux, Director, School Quality, Friends of Choice in Urban Schools

11:20-12:00 (40 min)

Special Education Providers

Rick Henning, Rock Creek Academy

Lauren Onkeles, Children’s Law Center


Break for lunch (on your own)

12:30-1:10 (40 min)

Other Education Providers for Children and Youth

Ellen London, Interim President and CEO, DC Children & Youth Investment Trust Corporation

Lucretia Murphy, Executive Director, See Forever Foundation/Maya Angelou Schools

1:15-2:10 (55 min)

Colleges/Universities and Job Training

Jeffrey Barton, Center Director, Potomac Job Corps Center

Sarah Irvine Belson, American University School of Education

John Parham, Director, School Programs, College Success Foundation-District of Columbia

Allen Sessoms, University of the District of Columbia

2:15-3:00 (45 min)


Shanell Brown, Anacostia High School

Sakinah Muhammad, Cesar Chavez Public Charter School for Public Policy, Capitol Hill Campus

Nicoisa Young, graduate of Cesar Chavez Public Charter School

Darius Duvall, 2009 graduate of Booker T. Washington Public Charter School

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement