the Tennessee Department of Health for 12 years. Dr. Erwin received a B.S. from the University of the South (Sewanee, Tennessee); an M.D. from the University of Alabama in Birmingham; an M.P.H. in International Health at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health; and a Dr.P.H. at UNC/Chapel Hill. Dr. Erwin was a Fellow in International Health at the Aga Khan University in Karachi, Pakistan. He also served as a Scholar of the CDC/University of California Public Health Leadership Institute, 1995. Currently, Dr. Erwin is board certified in Internal Medicine and Public Health/General Preventive Medicine and is a Fellow of the American College of Preventive Medicine. He is also a board member of the Tennessee Institute of Public Health, 2007-present, and the Public Health Foundation, 2009-present. Since 2007, he has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee for United Health Foundation’s America’s Health Rankingsreport and the Research and Evaluation Committee of the Public Health Accreditation Board. Dr. Erwin’s public health-related research and publications have been in the areas of public health systems and services research, health inequities/poverty and health, and infectious/communicable diseases.

Caswell A. Evans, Jr., D.D.S., M.P.H., is currently the Associate Dean for Prevention and Public Health Sciences at the University of Illinois, Chicago College of Dentistry. He served as the Executive Editor and Project Director of Oral Health in America: A Report of the U.S. Surgeon General. For 12 years, Dr. Evans served as Director of Public Health Programs and Services for the Los Angeles County Department of Health Services. He also served as Adjunct Professor for the School of Public Health and the School of Dentistry at the University of California, Los Angeles; Visiting Professor of Dentistry at Columbia University School of Dental and Oral Surgery; and Distinguished Minority Visiting Professor at the Boston University Health Sciences Center. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Evans is a Past President of the American Public Health Association, the American Association of Public Health Dentistry, and the American Board of Dental Public Health. He was the first recipient of the Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health, conferred by the California State Department of Health Services. He was also honored with the Champion of Prevention Award from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Theodore G. Ganiats, M.D., is professor of Department of Family and Preventive Medicine at the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine, and Executive Director of the UCSD Health Services Research Center. He has been a member or chair of over 40 national guideline and quality/performance panels spanning multiple disciplines. His research interests involve outcomes research, focusing on quality-of-life assessment and cost-effectiveness analysis. He is a member of the Society for Medical

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement