Click for next page ( 80

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 79
C Workshop Agenda and List of Participants FEDERAL HIGH-PERFORMANCE GREEN FACILITIES WORKSHOP WALTER E. WASHINGTON CONVENTION CENTER WASHINGTON, D.C. Agenda Tuesday, July 20, 2010 1:00 p.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks. National Research Council Study, Co-Sponsors, Process, and Deliverables David J. Nash, Chair, NRC Committee on Federal High-Performance Green Buildings 1:15 p.m. Workshop Objectives and Format Shyam Sunder, Co-Chair, Building Technology Research and Development Subcommittee of the National Science and Technology Council, and Director, Engineering Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology 1:30 p.m. Beyond Performance Requirements: Breakthrough Thinking in the Federal Sector Kevin Kampschroer, Office of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings, General Services Administration 1:45 p.m. Guest Presentations The Economics of Sustainability: The Business Case That Makes Itself Greg Kats, President, Capital-E, and Venture Partner, Good Energies Beyond Incrementalism: The Case of Arlington, Virginia Peter Garforth, President, Garforth International, LLC 79

OCR for page 79
80 ACHIEVING HIGH-PERFORMANCE FEDERAL FACILITIES Transformative Action Through Systems-Based Thinking Robert Berkebile, Principal, BNIM Architects 2:45 p.m. Breakouts—Who, What, Where Shyam Sunder 3:15 p.m. Concurrent Breakout Sessions Breakout Topic 1: Investing in and Budgeting for Sustainable Facilities Breakout Topic 2: Planning, Siting, Infrastructure, and Community Relations Breakout Topic 3: Sustainable Operations and Maintenance Breakout Topic 4: Life-Cycle Assessment 4:30 p.m. Report-outs from Breakout Session Facilitators Wednesday July 21, 2010 8:30 a.m. Welcome Back David J. Nash, Chair, NRC Committee on Federal High-Performance Green Buildings 8:45 a.m. Guest Presentations Getting to Net-Zero Energy: NREL’s Research Support Facility Jeffrey M. Baker, Director of Laboratory Operations, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, Department of Energy (DOE) Sustainable Fort Carson: An Integrated Approach Christopher Juniper, Sustainability Planner and Hal Alguire, Division of Public Works, Fort Carson, Colorado Sustainable Asset Management: The Case of Los Angeles Community College District Thomas L. Hall, Facilities Program Manager, Los Angeles Community College District Overcoming Regulatory Barriers: What Worked in California Roland Risser, Co-chair, Building Technology Research and Development Subcommittee of the National Science and Technology Council, and Program Manager, Building Technologies Program, DOE 10:30 a.m. Concurrent Breakout Sessions Breakout Topic 5: Design and Construction for New Buildings and Retrofits Breakout Topic 6: Asset/Program Management Breakout Topic 7: Sustainable Acquisition Breakout Topic 8: Regulatory Issues, Voluntary Standards, and Rating Systems 11:45 a.m. Report-outs from Breakout Session Facilitators 12:30 p.m. Thank You and Adjournment

OCR for page 79
81 APPENDIX C List of Participants Mark Ames, American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Carolyn Austin-Diggs, General Services Administration (GSA) Dave Baker, U.S. Department of State (DOS) Jim Balocki, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Peter Bardaglio, Second Nature Michael Bloom, GSA Catherine Broad, U.S. Department of Agriculture Corey Buffo, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Lane Burt, Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC) Steven Bushby, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Philip Columbus, Department of the Army Anne Crawley, DOE Jose Cuzme, Indian Health Services Victor D’Amato, Tetra Tech, Inc. Lance Davis, GSA Maria de Isasi, Smithsonian Institution Ryan Doerfler, GSA Paul Domich, National Science and Technology Council Bill Dowd, National Capital Planning Commission (NCPC) Michael Dunn, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Terrel Emmons, Office of the Architect of the Capitol (AOC) Ecton English, National Security Agency (NSA) Stella Fiotes, NIST Anna Franz, AOC Chris Garvin, Terrapin Bright Green Frank Giblin, GSA Brad Gustafson, DOE Ryan Guyer, DOS Jeffrey Harris, Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) Byron Haselden, Haselden Construction Jonathan Herz, GSA William Holley, GSA Diana Horvat, Envision Design Mary Ellen Hynes, Department of Homeland Security Alison Kinn Bennett, EPA Bob Kollm, U.S. Postal Service William Logan, Headquarters, U.S. Coast Guard Juan Lopez, Office of the Federal Environmental Executive Philip Macey, Haselden Construction Sina Mostaghimi, EPA Get Moy, AECOM Inc. Steve Pranger, USACE Douglas Read, ASHRAE Ab Ream, DOE Eleni Reed, GSA

OCR for page 79
82 ACHIEVING HIGH-PERFORMANCE FEDERAL FACILITIES Jeffrey Rutt, NSA Sarah Ryker, Science and Technology Policy Institute Ken Sandler, GSA Martin (Marty) Savoie, USACE Robert Scinta, U.S. Department of Commerce Graziella Siciliano, ASE Josh Silverman, DOE Rodney Sobin, ASE Diane Stewart, Department of Health and Human Services Diane Sullivan, NCPC Shyam Sunder, NIST Alison Taylor, Siemens Corporation Joni Teter, GSA Mary Tidlow, National Park Service (NPS) Meg Waltner, NRDC Stephen Whitesell, NPS David Zimmerman, Tennessee Valley Authority