2005 “Rising Above the Gathering Storm” Committee Members Participating in “The Gathering Storm, Revisited”1

NORMAN R. AUGUSTINE [NAE/NAS] (Chair) is the retired chairman and CEO of the Lockheed Martin Corporation and a former Undersecretary of the Army. He is a recipient of the National Medal of Technology.

CRAIG BARRETT [NAE] is retired chairman and CEO of Intel Corporation.

GAIL CASSELL [IOM] is former vice president for scientific affairs and a Distinguished Lilly Research Scholar for Infectious Diseases at Eli Lilly and Company. She is a former member of the Food and Drug Administration Science Board.

NANCY GRASMICK is the Maryland state superintendent of schools.

CHARLES HOLLIDAY JR. [NAE] is the chairman of Bank of America and the retired chairman of the Board and CEO of DuPont.

SHIRLEY ANN JACKSON [NAE] is president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She is a past president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and was chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

ANITA K. JONES [NAE] is University Professor Emerita at the University of Virginia. She served as director of defense research and engineering at the U.S. Department of Defense and was vice-chair of the National Science Board.

RICHARD LEVIN is president of Yale University and the Frederick William Beinecke Professor of Economics.

C. D. (DAN) MOTE JR. [NAE] is president emeritus of the University of Maryland and the Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering.

CHERRY MURRAY [NAS/NAE] is dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science at Harvard University. She is immediate past president of the American Physical Society and a past deputy director for science and technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. She was formerly a senior vice president at Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies.

PETER O’DONNELL JR. is president of the O’Donnell Foundation of Dallas, a private foundation that develops and funds model programs designed to strengthen engineering and science education and research.

LEE R. RAYMOND [NAE] is the retired chairman of the Board and CEO of Exxon Mobil Corporation.

ROBERT C. RICHARDSON [NAS] is the F. R. Newman Professor of Physics and the vice provost for research at Cornell University. He was a co-winner of the Nobel Prize in physics in 1996.

P. ROY VAGELOS [NAS/IOM] is the retired chairman and CEO of Merck & Co., Inc.

CHARLES M. VEST [NAE] is president of the National Academy of Engineering and is president emeritus of MIT and a professor of mechanical engineering. He is a recipient of the National Medal of Technology.

GEORGE M. WHITESIDES [NAS/NAE] is the Woodford L. & Ann A. Flowers University Professor at Harvard University. He has served as an adviser for the National Science Foundation and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

RICHARD N. ZARE [NAS] is the Marguerite Blake Wilbur Professor of Natural Science at Stanford University. He was chair of the National Science Board from 1996 to 1998.


More information, including the full body of the report and the original Gathering Storm report, is available at the National Academies Web site, www.nationalacademies.org.

© 2011 National Academy of Sciences


Additional members of the 2005 Committee:

STEVEN CHU [NAS], a Nobel Laureate in physics, is currently serving as U.S. Secretary of Energy.

ROBERT GATES, former president of Texas A&M University, is currently serving as U.S. Secretary of Defense.

JOSHUA LEDERBERG [NAS], recipient of the Nobel Prize in physiology/medicine, passed away on February 2, 2008.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement