Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

than 240 publications and 27 patents related to energy supply, energy use, and petrochemical production. He wrote and lectured extensively on U.S. and world energy issues throughout his lifetime and was revered for his uncanny ability to bridge the communication gap between key stakeholders in productive energy policy development. For this reason he was tapped to serve on several federal advisory bodies dealing with energy policy, technology, and regulation, beginning with the Kennedy administration, and held a presidential appointment during the Ford administration.

Among Henry’s most noteworthy and proudest professional achievements was his election in 1974 to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in recognition of his “contributions to methods of fuels conversion and energy utilization.” He was also fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), and the Institute of Energy. Henry was a member of the Hydrogen Technical Advisory Panel of the U.S. Department of Energy (1992–2003), the NAE Advisory Committee on Technology and Society (1987–1992) and the Steering Committee on Industrial Ecology and Design for the Environment (1992–1994), the Advisory Council of the Electric Power Research Institute (1987–1993), and the Energy Engineering Board of the National Research Council (1986–1993). He served as a director of five major corporations—Sonat, Inc., and its subsidiary Southern Natural Gas Company, Reynolds Metals Company, UGI Corporation, and the AES Corporation—and as an advisory board member of five venture capital funds.

Henry received numerous awards for his technical and analytical work in the fossil fuels area, including the Homer H. Lowry Award for Excellence in Fossil Energy Research from the U.S. Department of Energy in 1991, the 1993 United States Energy Award from the United States Energy Association, the 1996 Lifetime Achievement Award of The Energy Daily, and the American Chemical Society Division of Fuel Chemistry Award in 1967. In 2000, AIChE recognized Henry with the Ernest W. Thiele Award, and in 2008 the AIChE’s Centennial Committee

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement