Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

Technologies Panel (1992–1993) and advised the government of India on science and technology policy.

For his achievements, Praveen was honored with a number of awards. In addition to the National Medal of Technology, these included the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Morris N. Liebmann Memorial Award (1992) for “the discovery of amorphous magnetic films in magneto-optic data storage systems,” now the foundation of the worldwide magnetic-optic disk industry; the American Physical Society’s George E. Pake Award (1987) for personal contributions to science and science management; and the Excellence Award of the U.S. Pan Asian American Chamber of Commerce. Praveen was a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Praveen was also a gifted leader who moved easily in the worlds of science, engineering, and policy. He was quiet but determined, demanding but understanding. His scientific and technological enthusiasm was infectious. He remained a gentleman to the end.

He is survived by his wife, Karin; his son, Ashok; his daughter, Pia; his sister, Neera Sahgal; and his two brothers, Shiv Chaudhari and Deepak Chaudhari.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement