sits on numerous scientific advisory boards. Dr. Anderson has published more than 150 scientific papers, one book, and 32 patents.

MARIETTA ANTHONY, PH.D., is at the Critical Path Institute (C-Path), which builds collaborative partnerships in a new model of drug development and in support of FDA’s regulatory mission. She is the associate director of the Arizona Center for Education & Research on Therapeutics (CERT), which focuses on drug safety. Dr. Anthony was a senior health policy analyst at three federal agencies—the Agency for Healthcare Policy and Research, the Food and Drug Administration, and the National Institutes of Health. Additionally, Dr. Anthony was in the Department of Pharmacology at Georgetown University and later, Vice President of Health Sciences in Women’s Health the University of Arizona. Dr. Anthony served on an IOM panel on women’s health research.

PHYLLIS ARTHUR, M.B.A., joined the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) in July 2009 as the Director of Healthcare Regulatory Affairs. In this role Ms. Arthur is responsible for working with member companies in vaccines and biodefense on policy, legislative, and regulatory issues. Prior to joining BIO, Ms. Arthur worked in numerous marketing and sales positions for Merck & Co Inc. in their Vaccine Division. Over her 16-year career in vaccines, Ms. Arthur launched several exciting new vaccines in the United States and internationally, worked closely with clinical and academic thought leaders in infectious diseases and oncology, and ran a large sales organization of over 75 representatives and managers. Before graduate school, Ms. Arthur worked as a research assistant for two economists at the Brookings Institution in Washington, D.C. There she conducted economic analyses related to savings and investment policies for the OECD countries. Ms. Arthur received her B.A. in 1987 in Economics and International Politics from Goucher College and her M.B.A. in 1991 from the Wharton School of Business at the University of Pennsylvania.

LESLIE Z. BENET, PH.D., Professor, Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, UCSF, has received honorary doctorates from six universities: Uppsala (1987), Leiden (1995), Illinois at Chicago and PCP&S (1997), Long Island (1999), and Athens (2005). During 1986, Dr. Benet founded and became the first president of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). Elected to IOM membership in 1987, he has chaired the following committees: Clinical Applications of Mifepristone RU486 and Other Antiprogestins; Pharmacokinetics and Drug Interactions in the Elderly and Special Issues in Elderly African-American Populations; and Accelerating the Research, Development, and Acquisition of Medical Countermeasures Against Biological Warfare Agents. His many awards

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement