rated at the top of the industry for performance benchmarks in the areas of safety, quality, productivity, and reliability. During his tenure, he created Delta TechOps as an entity, which has become one of the leading maintenance, repair, and overhaul (MRO) service providers in the aviation industry. Under his leadership, TechOps implemented Six Sigma and LEAN management techniques, making it one of the most productive work groups in the industry. TechOps has been honored with numerous awards, including the FAA-AMT Diamond Award, Georgia Oglethorpe Award, Aviation Week & Space Technology MRO Innovation Award, and Star status in OSHA’s Voluntary Protection Program (VPP). Mr. Valeika was honored with the Air Transport Association’s Nuts and Bolts award because of his leadership in the aviation industry. In addition, his leadership of the “human” side over the years was recognized by a Humanitarian Award from the Community Mayors of New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut, and a Laurel from Aviation Week and Space Technology. In October of 1999 he received the Marvin Whitlock Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers because of his accomplishments and long-term leadership within the aeronautical engineering and commercial aviation industries. Most recently the Aviation Week Group honored him with a lifetime achievement award. He has lectured at many universities including the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Yale, and Georgia Tech and has been on various committees for the National Academies of Science. He is former member of the Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board of the National Research Council. Currently he is on the Board of Directors of Flight Safety Foundation, AerCap Inc., and SRT. Prior to working at Delta, he was the Senior Vice President of Technical Operations at Continental Airlines and Vice President of Maintenance and Engineering at Pan AM. He graduated from St. Louis University with a degree in aeronautical engineering.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement