James M. Tiedje (NAS) is University Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics and of Crop and Soil Sciences at Michigan State University and is director of the Center for Microbial Ecology, one of the original NSF-funded Science and Technology Centers. He is a distinguished microbial ecologist with important contributions to denitrification, bioremediation, and molecular ecology. Recently he made notable contributions using genomics and metagenomics to the understanding of ecological functions, speciation, and niche adaptation. He has served as editor in chief of Applied and Environmental Microbiology and editor of Microbial and Molecular Biology Reviews. He served on the NRC Board on Life Sciences, chaired EPA’s Science Advisory Panel, and serves on DOE’s Biological and Environmental Research Advisory Committee. He was president of the American Society for Microbiology and of the International Society of Microbial Ecology. He shared the 1992 Finley Prize from UNESCO for internationally significant research contributions in microbiology and was recently awarded an Einstein Professorship by the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is a fellow of the AAAS, the American Academy of Microbiology, and the Soil Science Society of America.

David Wark is a professor of physics at Imperial College London and a senior laboratory fellow at the STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory. He is an internationally renowned authority on neutrino physics, recognized for his work on a series of groundbreaking neutrino experiments, including the SAGE solar neutrino experiment, which first showed that there was a deficit of neutrinos from the proton-proton solar cycle, and, more recently, on the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory in Canada, where he served as U.K. co-spokesman. Currently, Dr. Wark is one of the principal investigators and international spokesmen for the neutrino oscillation experiment being constructed in Japan. He is a member of the Scientific Policy Committee at CERN and was formerly a member of the CERN SPSC committee, which supervised the CNGS long-baseline neutrino oscillation program, and was a founding member of the European Committee for Coordination of Astroparticle Physics. Dr. Wark was the first chair of the U.K.’s Astroparticle Physics Advisory Panel, a former member of the European Committee for Future Accelerators, was the Chair of the European Physical Society High Energy Particle Physics Division, and has served on the advisory committees for SNOLAB and the CanFranc underground laboratory. He was awarded the Institute of Physics Rutherford Prize in 2004 for contributions to astroparticle physics, is a former President of the Physics Section of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society and of the Institute of Physics.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement