Jorge L. Sarmiento, Princeton University

Shubha Sathyendranath, Bedford Institute of Oceanography

Carl F. Schueler, Raytheon Company (retired)

David A. Siegel, University of California, Berkeley

Cara Wilson, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration


Claudia Mengelt, Program Officer, Ocean Studies Board (study director)

Arthur A. Charo, Senior Program Officer, SSB


The ad hoc Committee on the Assessment of Impediments to Interagency Cooperation on Space and Earth Science Missions was formed to assess impediments, including cost growth, to the successful conduct of interagency cooperation on Earth science and space science missions; to identify lessons learned and best practices from past interagency Earth science and space science missions; and to recommend steps to help facilitate successful interagency collaborations on Earth science and space science missions.

During the first half of 2010, the committee finalized its draft report, which entered external peer review in July. A prepublication version of the report, Assessment of Impediments to Interagency Collaboration on Space and Earth Science Missions, was issued in November and briefed to NASA officials and to staff of the House Science and Technology’s Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics. Further briefings are planned for the first quarter of 2011. The Executive Summary of this report is reproduced in Chapter 5 of this report.


D. James Baker, The William J. Clinton Foundation (co-chair)

Daniel N. Baker, University of Colorado at Boulder (co-chair)

David A. Bearden, The Aerospace Corporation

Charles L. Bennett, Johns Hopkins University

Stacey Boland, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

Antonio J. Busalacchi, Jr., University of Maryland, College Park

Carlos E. Del Castillo, Johns Hopkins University

Antonio L. Elias, Orbital Sciences Corporation

Margaret Finarelli, George Mason University

Todd R. La Porte, University of California, Berkeley

Margaret S. Leinen, Climate Response Fund

Scott N. Pace, George Washington University

Graeme L. Stephens, Colorado State University

Annalisa L. Weigel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Michael S. Witherell, University of California, Santa Barbara

A. Thomas Young, Lockheed Martin Corporation (retired)


Arthur A. Charo, Senior Program Officer, SSB

Joseph K. Alexander, Senior Program Officer, SSB

Abigail A. Sheffer, Associate Program Officer, SSB

Carmela J. Chamberlain, Administrative Coordinator, SSB

Terri Baker, Senior Program Assistant, SSB

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement