Carolyn M. Clancy, M.D., is the Director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Prior to her appointment, Clancy was Director of AHRQ’s Center for Outcomes and Effectiveness Research. Clancy, a general internist and health services researcher, is a graduate of Boston College and the University of Massachusetts Medical School. Following clinical training in internal medicine, Clancy was a Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania. Clancy holds an academic appointment at the George Washington University School of Medicine and serves as Senior Associate Editor for the journal Health Services Research.

Brent C. James, M.D., M.Stat., is the Chief Quality Officer at Intermountain Healthcare. He is known internationally for his work in clinical quality improvement, patient safety, and the infrastructure that underlies successful improvement efforts. Through the Intermountain Advanced Training Program in Clinical Practice Improvement, he has trained more than 3,500 senior physician, nursing, and administrative executives in clinical management methods, with proven improvement results (and more than 30 “daughter” training programs in six countries). Before coming to Intermountain, he was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health, providing statistical support for the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group, and staffed the American College of Surgeons’ Commission on Cancer.

Paul H. O’Neill, was the 72nd Secretary of the U.S. Treasury, serving from 2001 to 2002. O’Neill was Chairman and CEO of Alcoa from 1987 to 1999 and retired as Chairman at the end of 2000. Prior to joining Alcoa, O’Neill was President of the International Paper Company from 1985 to 1987, where he was Vice President from 1977 to 1985. He worked as a computer systems analyst with the U.S. Veterans Administration from 1961 to 1966 and served on the staff of the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) from 1967 to 1977. He was Deputy Director of OMB from 1974 to 1977.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement