anomalies. He is a Fellow of both the American Geophysical Union and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Banerjee has received many awards, including the 2006 John Adam Fleming Medal from the American Geophysical Union, the 2004 Louis Néel Medal from the European Geosciences Union, and the 2003 William Gilbert Award from the American Geophysical Union, Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism. Dr. Banerjee was the President of American Geophysical Union’s Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism section and a member of the Council of Officers of the American Geophysical Union from 1984 to 1988. At the NSF, Dr. Banerjee has participated in many ad hoc panels to review research grant proposals and reseach programs and to help select Presidential Young Investigators.

William B. Curry is a Senior Scientist at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI). He received a B.S. in geology from the University of Delaware in 1974 and a Ph.D. in geology from Brown University in 1980. Dr. Curry studies the history of Earth’s climate and carbon cycle using geological records of ocean chemistry and physical properties. His detailed research interests are quantitative paleoclimatology and paleoceanography, sedimentation dynamics of marine particulates, and stable isotopic fractionation in carbonate-secreting organisms. Dr. Curry is actively involved with seagoing expeditions to collect deep-sea sediments and uses the chemistry of fossils in the sediments to determine how climate has changed on decadal to millennial time scales. He has been a member of the Scientific Staff at WHOI since 1981. He is a former Ocean Studies Board member and has served on three National Research Council Committees.

Magnus Friberg is a Research Officer at the Swedish Research Council with special responsibilities for large-scale infrastructures for earth and environmental research, polar research, and the Research Council’s program for investments in research equipment in all areas of science. As such, he represents Sweden in international research cooperations in Earth and environmental sciences and polar research. He has a Ph.D. in applied geophysics from Uppsala University. His research involved geophysical exploration techniques and their combination with geological observations, focusing on the deep drilling site in the Middle Ural Mountains. It also included applying geophysics to archeology and environmental and geothermal exploration, as well as characterizing sites for nuclear waste repositories. Dr. Friberg also serves on several national and international organizations, including the EU Joint Programming Initiative on Climate Research and the European Strategy Forum for Research Infrastructures (EU Commission) Thematic Working Group on Environmental Research Infrastructures, and he chairs the Nordic Council of Ministers program on Cryosphere Research.

Julie Huber is a microbial oceanographer at the Marine Biological Laboratory, interested in the ecology of bacteria and archaea in the deep sea, especially at underwater volcanoes. Most of her research focuses on the oceanic crust as a microbial habitat and the distribution, diversity, and evolutionary and community dynamics of microbial groups in the subseafloor. Currently, Dr. Huber is using phylogenetic, metagenomic, cultivation-based, and geochemical measurements of deep-sea crustal fluids to link microbial groups with their metabolic and physiological functions in subseafloor habitats. She is broadly interested in marine microbial ecosystems of all types, from coral reefs to marine sediments, and the methods and approaches that unite microbial scientists. As a sea-going scientist, Dr. Huber is also interested in technology development for deep-sea exploration and in situ experimentation. Dr. Huber has a Ph.D. and M.S. in oceanography from the University of Washington, and she is a winner of the Loreal Women in Science award.

Michael E. Jackson is the Manager for Earth Sciences for Trimble Navigation. He was recently the Principal Investigator and Director of EarthScope Plate Boundary and SAFOD (San Andres Fault Obsevatory at Depth) Observatories, UNAVCO, Inc. Dr. Jackson specializes in the geodesy, paleoseismology, and physics of tectonically active parts of Earth with an emphasis on the installation, operations, and management of remote, geographically distributed instrumentation networks. As part of his duties as a National Science Foundation (NSF) Major Equipment and Facilities Construction Project Manager, Dr. Jackson provides advice to NSF on whether other large facility projects are well proposed and ready to begin construction/implementation, and he provides ongoing guidance to NSF during the construction and operations phases. Dr. Jackson was Chair of the Ocean Observatories Initiatives Preliminary Design Review panel and a member of the National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) Conceptual Design and Preliminary Design review panels. Dr. Jackson has also served as a member of the U.S. Geological Survey’s National Volcano Early Warning System (NVEWS) advisory panel. He has a B.S. in geology from the University of New Mexico and an M.S. in geological sciences and a Ph.D. in geophysics from the University of Colorado.

Keith K. Millheim (NAE) is President of Strategic Worldwide, LLC. Dr. Millheim received his Ph.D. in mining engineering from the University of Leoben in 1992. He also earned an M.Sc. in petroleum engineering from the University of Oklahoma in 1964 and a B.Sc. in petroleum science from Marietta College in 1963. Dr. Millheim is a member of many professional societies, including the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and the Society of Systems Thinking. He is also a member of many other organizations, including the Texas Academy of Science, Engineering and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement