Click for next page ( 179

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 178
APPENDIX D Symposium Agenda and Participants EQUITY ISSUES IN FINANCING TRANSPORTATION SYMPOSIUM Keck Center of the National Academies 500 Fifth Street NW, Washington, DC 20001 Wednesday, September 2, 2009 AGENDA 8:30 a.m.–8:45 a.m. Welcome and Introduction, Joseph Schofer, committee chair 8:45 a.m.–10:15 a.m. Equity in Public and Transportation Finance and Remedial Actions Moderator: Sandi Rosenbloom, committee member 8:45 a.m.–9:15 a.m. Passing the Buck: Who Gains and Who Loses from Taxes and Other Fund-Raising Ideas? Sarah West, Associate Professor, Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota, paper author 9:15 a.m.–9:45 a.m. Equity Consequences of Current and Emerging Transportation Finance Schemes Lisa Schweitzer, Assistant Professor, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, paper author 9:45 a.m.–10:15 a.m. Remedies for Problems of Transportation Equity David King, Assistant Professor of Urban Planning, Columbia University, New York, paper author 162

OCR for page 178
Symposium Agenda and Participants 163 10:15 a.m.–10:45 a.m. Break 10:45 a.m.–noon Spatial Implications of Transportation Finance and an International Perspective on Transportation Finance Equity Moderator: Johanna Zmud, committee member 10:45 a.m.–11:15 a.m. Some Recent Experiences in Equity Analysis Using Choice-Based Spatial Economic Models John Douglas Hunt, Professor of Transporta- tion Engineering and Planning, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada 11:15 a.m.–11:45 a.m. International Experience with Equity Issues in Transportation Finance Peter Bonsall, Professor of Transport Planning, University of Leeds, United Kingdom Noon–1:00 p.m. Lunch 1:00 p.m.–2:15 p.m. Equity, Public Opinion, and Politics Moderator: David Levinson, committee member 1:00 p.m.–1:30 p.m. Equity Concerns and Public Acceptance of Alternative Financing Mechanisms Robert Cameron Mitchell, committee member 1:30 p.m.–2:15 p.m. Equity in Surface Transport Finance: A Politi- cal Perspective Alan Altshuler, Distinguished Service Professor and Ruth and Frank Stanton Professor of Urban Policy and Planning, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, paper author 2:15 p.m.–2:45 p.m. Break 2:45 p.m.–4:15 p.m. Case Studies in Transportation Finance Equity Moderator: Doug Duncan, committee member Four guest presenters will each describe and discuss a transportation project in which they were involved in the decision-making process.

OCR for page 178
164 Equity of Evolving Transportation Finance Mechanisms To the extent that equity issues were a factor in the decision-making process, these issues will be discussed in the talk. • Funding Highway Infrastructure in Texas Mike Krusee, former chair, Transportation Committee, Texas House of Representatives • Oregon’s Road User Fee Program Bruce Starr, Senator, District 15, Oregon State Senate • Keeping Rail to Dulles on Track James Dinegar, President and CEO, Greater Washington Board of Trade • New York City’s Congestion Pricing Initiative Bruce Schaller, Deputy Commissioner for Planning and Sustainability, New York City Department of Transportation Discussant: • Mortimer Downey, President, Mort Downey Consulting, LLC, and Senior Advisor, Parsons Brinckerhoff 4:15 p.m.–5:15 p.m. Open Discussion Moderator: Joseph Schofer, committee chair SYMPOSIUM PARTICIPANTS Teresa Adams Susan Binder U.S. Department of Senate Committee on Transportation; University Environment and Public of Wisconsin-Madison Works Nathan Austin Jay Borwankar Morgan State University U.S. Department of Transportation, Office of Scott Baker AECOM Inspector General

OCR for page 178
Symposium Agenda and Participants 165 Harold Foster Jane Breakell Prince George’s County The Pew Charitable Trusts Planning Department Michael Broadus John D. Giorgis U.S. Department of U.S. Department of Transportation, Office Transportation, Federal of Inspector General Transit Administration Piercarlo Brunino Neil Gray KPMG International Bridge, Tunnel Michael Callow and Turnpike Association Morgan State University Robert Grow Kelly Clifton Greater Washington Board National Center for Smart of Trade Growth Paul Hanley Public Policy Center, University John Collins of Iowa Transportation Business, Law and Strategy JayEtta Hecker Bipartisan Policy Center Qingbin Cui University of Maryland Mike Heiligenstein Central Texas Regional Patrick DeCorla-Souza Mobility Authority U.S. Department of Phil Herr Transportation, Federal Government Accountability Highway Administration Office Liisa Ecola Max Inman RAND Corporation Mercator Advisors Peter Einhorn Emilia Istrate Travis County, Texas Brookings Institution Andrew Farkas Jorianne Jernberg Morgan State University U.S. Department of Stephen Fitzroy Transportation, Federal EDR Group, Inc. Transit Administration

OCR for page 178
166 Equity of Evolving Transportation Finance Mechanisms Deborah Johnson Martin Pietrucha U.S. Department Larson Institute of Transportation Alan Pisarski Jana Lynott Alan Pisarski Consultancy AARP Public Policy Institute Robena Reid Victor McMahan U.S. Department of U.S. Environmental Transportation, Federal Protection Agency Transit Administration Martine Micozzi Arlee Reno Transportation Research Board Cambridge Systematics, Inc. Adrian Moore Michael Replogle Reason Foundation Institute for Transportation and Development Policy Sachio Muto Embassy of Japan Joshua Schank Bipartisan Policy Center Masahiro Nishikawa U.S. Department of Darren Timothy Transportation, Federal U.S. Department of Highway Administration, Transportation, Federal Office of Operations Research Highway Administration and Development Pamela Whitted Thomas M. Palmerlee National Stone, Sand Transportation Research Board and Gravel Association Jonathan Peters Lei Zhang The City University of New York University of Maryland