and the structural composition of Type I reaction centers from anaerobic photosynthetic bacteria, particularly heliobacteria. His long-term goal lies in engineering biohybrid photosynthetic constructs to produce hydrogen. Dr. Golbeck is a member of the American Biophysical Society and currently serves as the treasurer for the International Society of Photosynthesis Research.

James C. Liao is a Chancellor’s Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Dr. Liao received his B.S. degree from National Taiwan University and his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, Madison. After working as a research scientist at Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, New York, he started his academic career at Texas A&M University in 1990 and moved to UCLA in 1997. He was elected a fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (2002) and received numerous awards, including the National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award (1992), Merck Award for Metabolic Engineering (2006), Food, Pharmaceutical, and Bioengineering Division Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) (2006), Charles Thom Award of the Society for Industrial Microbiology (2007), Marvin Johnson Award of the American Chemical Society (2009), Alpha Chi Sigma Award of AIChE (2009), James E. Bailey Award of the Society for Biological Engineering (2009), and Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award (2010).

Julie Maupin-Furlow is a Research Foundation Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Cell Science at the University of Florida (UF). She is a microbial physiologist and biochemist with research expertise in archaea and the metabolic engineering of microbes for the production of renewable fuels and chemicals. Dr. Maupin-Furlow currently serves on the editorial boards of the Journal of Bacteriology and Saline Systems. She was co-chair of the 2009 Gordon Research Conference titled Archaea: Ecology, Metabolism & Molecular Biology, and is a current member of the UF Interdisciplinary Center for Biotechnology Proteomics Advisory Board, the Florida Center for Renewable Chemicals and Fuels, the Genetics Institute, the Center for Structural Biology, the Mass Spectrometry Users Group, and the Science for Life Howard Hughes Medical Institute Team. Maupin-Furlow has also served as a member of review panels for government agencies such as the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, the National Institutes of Health, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and as a panel manager for the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Research Initiative Biobased Products and Bioenergy Production Research Program 71.2. She received

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement