Biographies of the Committee

Charles N. Haas is the L.D. Betz Chair Professor of Environmental Engineering and Head of the Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering at Drexel University. His broad research interests are in drinking-water treatment, bioterrorism, and risk assessment. Specific research activities include assessment of risks from exposures to deliberately released agents; engineering analysis and optimization of chemical decontamination schemes; microbiologic risks associated with pathogens in drinking water, biosolids, and foods; novel kinetic models for disinfection processes and process control; and use of computational fluid dynamics for process modeling. Dr. Haas is co-director of the Center for Advancing Microbial Risk Assessment that is jointly funded by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He received his M.S. from the Illinois Institute of Technology and his Ph.D. in environmental engineering from the University of Illinois. He was chair of the NRC Committee to Review the Health and Safety Risks of High-Biocontainment Laboratories at Fort Detrick.

Karen B. Byers is the biosafety officer at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute where she oversees the research practices and training for Biosafety Levels 1-3 and Animal Biosafety Levels 1-3 laboratories. She is currently the president of the American Biological Safety Association and was the recipient of the association’s Everett Hanel, Jr., Presidential Award in 2001 for promoting the field of biological safety and fostering the high professional standards of the association’s membership. Ms. Byers received an M.S. in microbiology from the University of Maine in Orono. She is a registered biosafety professional and a certified biosafety professional.

Nancy D. Connell is professor and vice-chair for research in the Department of Medicine at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ), New Jersey Medical School. Her major research focus is the interaction between Mycobacterium tuberculosis and the macrophage. She directs the UMDNJ Center for Biodefense, which does research in drug discovery for select agents and in development of biodefense preparedness training programs. She chairs the Recombinant DNA Subcommittee of the Institutional Biosafety Committee and directs the Biosafety Level 3 Facility of the UMDNJ Center for the Study of Emerging and Re-emerging Pathogens. She received her Ph.D. in microbiology from Harvard University. Dr. Connell was a member of the NRC Committee to Review the Health and Safety Risks of High-Biocontainment Laboratories at Fort Detrick and currently serves on the Committee on Review of the Scientific Approaches Used During the FBI’s Investigation of the 2001 Bacillus Anthracis Mailings and the Committee on Trends in Science and Technology Relevant to the Biological Weapons Convention: An International Workshop.

Sara Y. Del Valle is a scientist and project leader in the Decision Applications Division of the Los Alamos National Laboratory. She also holds an appointment as an adjunct research professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Arizona State University. Her research interests are in developing and analyzing mathematical models for the spread of infectious diseases, including smallpox, HIV, and influenza, on a pandemic scale. She has also worked on modeling, simulating, and analyzing large-scale, agent-based discrete-event simulations, including the Epidemic Simulation System, Multiscale Integrated Information and Telecommunications System, and the Healthcare Simulation System. Dr. Del Valle received her Ph.D. in applied mathematics and computational sciences at the University of Iowa.

Joseph N.S. Eisenberg is associate professor in the Department of Epidemiology at the University of Michigan. His research interests are in infectious-disease epidemiology and development of disease-transmission models. Recent work focused on the development of a new microbial risk-assessment framework that shifts the traditional approach of individual-based static models to population-based

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement