University of Hawaii President’s Advisory Council on Hawaii Innovation and Technology Advancement.

Recent publications include: “Modeling Tourism: A fully identified VECM approach,” with Byron Gangnes and Ting Zhou, International Journal of Forecasting, 25:531-49 (2009); and “Collusive Duopoly: The Effects of the Aloha and Hawaiian Airlines’ Agreement to Reduce Capacity,” with James Mak and Roger Blair, Antitrust Law Journal, 74(2):409-38 (2007).


Keiki-Pua Dancil, Ph.D. is the president and Chief Executive Officer of Hawaii Science and Technology Council and Institute. Most recently Keiki-Pua was the executive vice president of Synedgen, Inc. (formally Hawaii Chitopure Inc), a diversified medical technology company. She also served as senior scientist and director of research and development for Trex Enterprises and its spin-off biosensor company, Silicon Kinetics. Keiki-Pua received her undergraduate degree from Santa Clara University in chemistry, her Ph.D. from the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry from the University of California at San Diego, and her M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. She has several patents and has published in several journals, including Science.


Dr. Mary L. Good, founding dean and Donaghey Professor at the Donaghey College of Engineering and Information Technology of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, is well known for her distinguished career. She has held many high-level positions in academia, industry, and government. The 143,000-member American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elected Dr. Good to serve as the president, following Dr. Stephen Jay Gould. In 2004, Dr. Good was recipient of the National Science Foundation’s highest honor, the Vannevar Bush Award. She was also the first female winner of the AAAS’s prestigious Philip Hogue Abelson prize for outstanding achievements in education, research and development management, and public service, spanning the academic, industrial, and government sectors. Two of her more than 27 awards include the National Science Foundation Distinguished Service medal and the esteemed American Chemical Society Priestly Medal. She is also the 6th Annual Heinz Award Winner. During the terms of Presidents Carter and Reagan, Dr. Good served on the National Science Board and chaired it from 1988 to 1991. She was the Undersecretary for Technology in the U.S. Department of Commerce and Technology during President Clinton’s first term. This agency assists American industry to advance productivity, technology, and innovation in order to make U.S. companies more competitive in the global market.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement