Advisory Committee, the Transportation Research Board Committee for a Study of Potential Energy Savings and Greenhouse Gas Reduction from Transportation, the board of the National Inventors Hall of Fame, and the Advisory Committee for Columbia University Center for Electron Transport in Molecular Nanostructures. Dr. Taylor was awarded the Garvan Medal from the American Chemical Society. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Indian National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of SAE International and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She was the president of the Materials Research Society and chair of the board of directors of the Gordon Research Conferences. She has expertise in R&D management, fuel cells, batteries, catalysis, exhaust emission control, and automotive materials. She received an A.B. in chemistry from Douglass College and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Northwestern University.

Wallace R. Wade (NAE) was chief engineer and technical fellow, Powertrain Systems Technology and Processes, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, Michigan, where he served for 32 years prior to his retirement. He was responsible for the development, application, and certification of emission and powertrain control system technologies for all Ford Motor Company’s North American vehicles. His technical responsibilities have included low emission technologies for internal combustion engines; analytical and laboratory based powertrain calibration with objective measures of driveability, the first domestic production OBD II (On-Board Diagnostic) system; technology for diesel particulate filters (DPF) with active regeneration; electronic control systems for gasoline and diesel engines; low heat rejection and low friction, direct injection diesel engines; and an ultra low emission, gas turbine combustion system. Today he is a consultant to industry and government. Mr. Wade was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2011 for implementation of low-emission technologies in the automotive industry. He is a fellow member of the Society of Automotive Engineers and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He received the Henry Ford Technology Award and has been recognized as a Distinguished Corporate Inventor by the National Inventors Hall of Fame. He has received five SAE Arch T. Colwell Awards and the SAE Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award. He has received 26 patents related to improvements in powertains and has written 25 published technical papers on powertrain research and development. He has an M.S.M.E. degree from the University of Michigan, and a B.M.E. degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, both in mechanical engineering.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement