Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel


Chad Holliday, Chair, Chairman of the Board, Bank of America, and Chairman and CEO, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company (DuPont) (retired) [NAE]

Peter Agre, University Professor and Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute, Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University [NAS/IOM]

Enriqueta Bond, President, Burroughs Wellcome Fund (retired) [IOM]

C. W. Paul Chu, T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science and Professor of Physics, University of Houston, and Former President, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology [NAS]

Francisco Cigarroa, Chancellor, The University of Texas System [IOM]

James Duderstadt, President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan [NAE]

Ronald Ehrenberg, Irving M. Ives Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations and Economics, and Director, Cornell Higher Education Research Institute, Cornell University

William Frist, Distinguished University Professor, Owen Graduate School of Management, Vanderbilt University, and U.S. Senator (retired)

William Green, Chairman and CEO, Accenture

John Hennessy, President and Bing Presidential Professor, Stanford University [NAS/NAE]

Walter Massey, President, School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and President Emeritus, Morehouse College

Burton McMurtry, Former Silicon Valley Venture Capitalist and Former Chair, Stanford University Board of Trustees

Ernest Moniz, Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics and Engineering Systems, Director of the Energy Initiative, and Director of the Laboratory for Energy and the Environment at the MIT Department of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Heather Munroe-Blum, Principal (President) and Vice Chancellor, and Professor, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

Cherry Murray, Dean, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, John A. and Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences, and Professor of Physics, Harvard University [NAS/NAE]

Hunter Rawlings, President Emeritus and Professor of Classical History, Cornell University*

John Reed, Chairman of the MIT Corporation and Chairman and CEO, Citigroup (retired)

Teresa Sullivan, President, University of Virginia

Sidney Taurel, Chairman and CEO, Eli Lilly & Company (retired)

Lee T. Todd, Jr., President, University of Kentucky

Laura D’Andrea Tyson, S. K. and Angela Chan Chair in Global Management, Haas School of Business, University of California Berkeley

Padmasree Warrior, Chief Technology Officer, Cisco Systems

*Hunter Rawlings resigned in May 2011 upon his appointment as President, Association of American Universities.

More information about this report can be found at

Photo and Figure Credits

Page 6: Source: Peter M. McPherson, Association of Public and Land-grant Universities, presentation to report committee, November 2010; 8 (left): image courtesy of NASA; 8 (right): photo by Peter Rejcek, National Science Foundation; 10 (left): Jim Varney/Science Photo Library; 10 (right): photo courtesy of Janet Chapple; 11: Source: Sally Rockey, National Institutes of Health, presentation to report committee, November 2010; 12-13: Eileen Barroso/Columbia University; 14 (left): iStockphoto; 14 (right): image courtesy NCSA; 15: Source: Council of Graduate Schools, Ph.D. Completion and Attrition: Analysis of Baseline Program Data from the Ph.D. Completion Project (2008); 16 (top 3 images): U.S. Census Bureau/Public Information Office; 16 (bottom right): Photodisc; 17: Source: University of California Los Angeles, Higher Education Research Institute, Degrees of Success: Bachelor’s Degree Completion Rates among Initial STEM Majors (2010); 18 (left): photo by Minden/Visual V Photos; 18 (right): iStockphoto; 19: Source: National Science Foundation, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, Doctorate Recipients from U.S. Universities (2009); 20: jupiterimages

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement