Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

Discussant: Anneke Sengers, Scientist Emeritus, National Institute of Standards and Technology and Chair, Working Group on
Women, InterAmerican Network of Academies of Sciences

1:00 am — 2:15 pm   Panel II—Focal Disciplines:

•  Computer Sciences


Robert Lichter, Principal, Merrimack Consultants, LLC
Willie Pearson, Jr., Professor, School of History,
Technology, and Society, Georgia Institute of Technology


•  Chemical Science


Joanne Cohoon, Associate Professor, Science,
Technology and Society Department, School of
Engineering and Applied Science, University of Virginia


•  Mathematics and Statistics


Keith Crank, Assistant Director, Research and Graduate
Education, American Statistical Association
Ingrid Daubechies,
Professor, Duke University and President, International Mathematical Union


Discussants: Lilian Wu, Program Executive, Global University Programs, International Business Machines Corporation, and Chair, Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine; Allan Fisher, Vice President, Laureate Education Inc., and Member, Committee on Women in Science, Engineering, and Medicine; and Bradley Miller, Director, Office of International Activities, American Chemical Society

2:15 pm — 2:30 pm   Break
2:30 pm — 3:45 pm   Panel III—Cross-Cutting Themes:

•  Role of Professional Societies


Lisa M. Frehill, Senior Program Officer, the National
Research Council


•  Promising Programs


Daryl Chubin, Director, Center for Advancing Science and Engineering Capacity, American Association for the Advancement of Science


•  Promising Policies


Connie L. McNeely, Professor of Public Policy, and Co-Director, Center for Science and Technology Policy, George Mason University Cheryl Leggon, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology


Discussants: Jessie DeAro, Program Director, Alliances For Graduate Education and the Professoriate, Education and Human

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement