College of Physicians and Surgeons, and adjunct professor of medicine at Johns Hopkins Medical School. Dr. Legato founded the Partnership for Gender-Specific Medicine at Columbia University in 1997 and is the editor of the first textbook on gender medicine, Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine. She spent her research career in cardiovascular research on the structure and function of the cardiac cell with the support of the American Heart Association and the National Institutes of Health. She has written numerous books for the lay public on women and cardiovascular disease and on gender-specific medicine. Dr. Legato received her medical degree from New York University School of Medicine in 1962.

Judith H. Lichtman, M.P.H., M.Sc., Ph.D., is associate professor of epidemiology and public health at the Yale University School of Medicine. Dr. Lichtman’s research focuses on heart disease and stroke outcomes, using large administrative databases and observational studies, and on biologic, social, and environmental factors that influence the presentation and outcomes of young women with heart disease. Since her faculty appointment at Yale in 2001, Dr. Lichtman has been the prinicipal investigator in studies funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the National Institute on Aging, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI), the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), and several private foundations. She is currently the principal investigator in two NINDS-funded projects that examine disease trends and outcomes for elderly stroke patients and co–principal investigator in an NHLBI-funded prospective observational study designed to examine the care and outcomes of young acute-myocardial-infarction patients (the VIRGO study). Dr. Lichtman has served on numerous national committees related to heart disease and stroke, including the American Heart Association (AHA) Patient Education System Task Force, the AHA Peer Review Evaluation Design Task Force, the AHA Stroke and Epidemiology Councils, and the AHA Quality of Care and Outcomes Research Expert Panel. She has been a member of the Program Committee for the AHA Conference on Cardiovascular Disease Epidemiology and Prevention and a cochair of two National AHA Writing Committees, and she is a member of the AHA Council on Epidemiology and Prevention Stroke Statistics Committee. She is also a member of the American Stroke Association Advisory Committee and the Quality Improvement Working group for

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement