TABLE 9-4 Postdoctoral and University Research Programs

Program Year
Current Student
Participation and Funding
Department of Homeland Security
Nuclear Forensics Post-doctoral Fellowship Program 2009 12 awards per year All postgraduate and university awards are geared toward National Technical Nuclear Forensics mission needs. 11 laboratories—Savannah River, Lawrence Livermore, Pacific Northwest, Sandia, NIST, Oak Ridge, New Brunswick, Argonne, Idaho, Los Alamos, and AFIT
Nuclear Forensics Junior Faculty Award Program 2010 6 per year Faculty institutions are encouraged to provide matching funds and awards are renewable for three consecutive years. Current awardees: University of Michigan, Pennsylvania State University, North Carolina State University, Clemson University, University of Missouri, Columbia University, and sixth award to be announced. (Samantha Connelly, DNDO, personal communication, April 2012)
Nuclear Forensics Education Award Program (with U.S Department of Energy National Nuclear Security Administration) 2009 7 awards Requires school matching funds and renewable for three consecutive years (Samantha Connelly, DNDO, personal communication, April 2012)
Department of Energy
Nuclear Energy University Programs 2009 $44 million, 71 awards to 31 schools (FY 2009); $38 million, 42 awards to 23 schools (FY 2010); $39 million, 51 awards to 31 schools (FY 2011) (DOE 2011 b,d)
National Nuclear Security Administration-National Science and Security Consortium at Berkeley 2011 $25 million over 5 years University of California, Berkeley; Michigan State University; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of Nevada, Las Vegas; University of California Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation in San Diego; and Washington University at St. Louis (NNSA 2011)

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement