10:30 AM–12:00 noon

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Frances Ligler, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)

•   Thomas Russell, Director, Air Force Office of Scientific Research

•   Lyle Schwartz, ASM Materials Educational Foundation

•   John Sommerer, Space Department Head, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

•   Leonard Buckley, Director, Science and Technology Division, Institute for Defense Analyses

Panel 2: Estimating STEM Workforce Needs Under Future Scenarios
1:00 PM–1:30 PM

Introductory Talk

•   Rolf Lehming, Director, S&E Indicators, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics, National Science Foundation

1:30 PM–3:00 PM

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Anita Jones, University of Virginia)

•   Leif Peterson, Managing Partner, Advanced HR Concepts and Solutions

•   Dixie Sommers, Assistant Commissioner of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor

•   John Fischer, Director, Laboratories Office, ASD(R&E)

•   Edward Swallow, Vice President, Business Development, Northrop Grumman Corporation; Chairman, STEM Workforce Division, National Defense Industrial Association

Panel 3: Limitations to Meeting Workforce Needs of DOD and the Industrial Base
3:30 PM–4:00 PM

Introductory Talk

•   Harold Salzman, Professor of Public Policy, Rutgers University

4:00 PM–5:30 PM

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Sharon Levin, University of Missouri-St. Louis)

•   Burt Barnow, Amsterdam Professor of Public Service and Economics, Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration, The George Washington University

•   Dixie Sommers, Assistant Commissioner of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor

•   Michael Finn, Economist, Oak Ridge Institute for Science Education

•   Rick Stephens, Senior Vice President, Human Resources and Administration, The Boeing Company

5:30 PM


Tuesday, August 2, 2011
Panel 4: Institutional Capacity in Education and the DOD Investments Needed to Ensure a Sufficient Workforce
8:30 AM–9:00 AM

Introductory Talk

•   Carl Wieman, Associate Director for Science, Office of Science and Technology Policy

9:00 AM–10:30 AM

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Daniel Oliver, Naval Postgraduate School)

•   Katrina McFarland, President, Defense Acquisition University

•   Wesley Harris, Charles Stark Draper Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Associate Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

•   Paul Gaffney, President, Monmouth University

•   S. James Gates, Jr., John S. Toll Professor of Physics and Director of Center for String and Particle Theory, University of Maryland, College Park

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement