scientific papers and numerous review articles and has appeared on television and been heard on radio commenting on glaciological impacts of the climate on the world’s ice sheets and glaciers.

Mary R. Albert, Dartmouth College, is professor of engineering at the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College, and she is executive director of the U.S. Ice Drilling Program Office. She was formerly a senior research scientist at the Army’s Cold Regions Research and Engineering Lab. Her research includes heat, mass, chemical transfer, and electromagnetic processes in snow and firn, including atmosphere-snow exchange, ice core interpretation, and remote sensing of snow and ice. She has led and participated in many research programs in both Greenland and Antarctica, most recently as chief scientist of the Norwegian-U.S. Scientific Traverse of East Antarctica, an IPY project. While serving on the National Academies of Science Polar Research Board from 2003-2006, she was chair of the U.S. National Committee for the IPY and led the writing of the 2004 NRC Report, A Vision for the International Polar Year. Dr. Albert served on the NSF OPP Advisory Committee from 1998 to 2001, and was Chair of that committee from 1999 to 2000. She is currently associate editor of Water Resources Research and serves on the Executive Committee of the American Geophysical Union Cryosphere Focus Group. Dr. Albert earned her Ph.D. in Applied Mechanics and Engineering Sciences in 1991 from the University of California, San Diego.

John Cassano, University of Colorado, is an associate professor in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences and a Fellow of the Cooperative Institute for Research in the Environmental Sciences at the University of Colorado, Boulder. His research focuses on the meteorology and climate of the polar regions. Dr. Cassano is a U.S. delegate to the International Arctic Sciences Committee. Dr. Cassano received his Ph.D in Atmospheric Science from the University of Wyoming in 1998.

Larry D. Hinzman, University of Alaska, Fairbanks, is the director of the International Arctic Research Center and is professor of civil and environmental engineering at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks. Professor Hinzman’s primary research interests involve permafrost hydrology. He has conducted hydrological and meteorological field studies in the Alaskan Arctic continuously for over 30 years while frequently collaborating on complementary research in the Russian and Canadian Arctic. His research efforts have involved characterizing and quantifying hydrological processes and their interdependence with climate and ecosystem dynamics. Dr. Hinzman’s academic degrees were earned from South Dakota State University, Purdue University, and the University of Alaska, Fairbanks in chemistry, soil science, agronomy and soil physics. He has served as a member of the U.S. Polar Research Board, the U.S. Representative to the International Permafrost Association and is a member of the Universities Council on Water Resources. He served as co-chair of the U.S. National Science Foundation study on the Arctic Freshwater Initiative and presently serves as chief scientist for the U.S. Department of Energy Arctic Next Generation Ecosystem Experiment. He is an internal advisory committee member for the Alaska Center for Energy and Power and Association of Polar Early Career Scientists. Dr. Hinzman serves on the International Advisory Board of the Korean Polar Research Institute and is strongly committed to facilitating international partnerships to advance our understanding of the Arctic system.

Dr. Eileen E. Hofmann, Old Dominion University, is a professor of iceanography in the Department of Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences and a member of the Center for Coastal Physical Oceanography, both at Old Dominion University. Dr. Hofmann earned a Ph.D. in Marine Science and Engineering from North Carolina State University. Her research interests are in the areas of understanding physical-biological interactions in marine ecosystems, climate control of diseases of marine shellfish populations, descriptive physical oceanography, and mathematical modeling of marine ecosystems. She has worked in a variety of marine environments, most recently the continental shelf region off the western Antarctic Peninsula. She served on the Ocean Studies Board and on numerous National Research Council committees, including the Committee on Strategic Advice on the U.S. Climate Change Science Program. She is currently the chair of the Integrated Marine Biogeochemical and Ecosystem Research Project, cosponsored by the

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement