Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

(1964); election as a foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (1973); the Atomic Energy Commission Award for Meritorious Contributions to the national atomic energy program (1974); the Pender Award for Outstanding Research Director of 1975, from the University of Pennsylvania; nomination to the rank of officer in the French Legion of Honor in recognition of efforts to promote and further understanding between France and the United States in the field of scientific and industrial achievements (1978); the Walter H. Zinn Award from the American Nuclear Society for outstanding contributions to the advancement of nuclear power (1979); the Founder’s Award of the Seventh Energy Technology Conference in recognition of scientific planning and management talents leading to successful establishment of innovative concepts of industry-wide energy technology R&D, from EPRI (1980); an honorary doctorate of engineering from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (1980); the Henry D. Smyth Award from the Atomic Industrial Forum, Inc., for contributions to nuclear energy (1983); the Distinguished Contribution Award of the Society for Risk Analysis for contributions to risk analysis (1984); an honorary doctorate of science from Tulane University (1986); the “Tommy” Thompson Award from the American Nuclear Society, for contributions to nuclear reactor safety (1988); the Rockwell Medal by the International Technology Institute, for excellence in technology and contributions to the betterment of mankind (1988); the United States Energy Award from the United States Energy Association for long-term contributions to energy and to international understanding (1990); the National Medal of Technology from President George H. W. Bush for contributions to engineering and the electric industry (1990); the George E. Pake Prize by the American Physical Society for visionary leadership and physics contributing to the establishment of a worldwide nuclear power industry for peaceful purposes (2000); the George C. Laurence Pioneering Award by the American Nuclear Society for outstanding pioneering contributions to nuclear reactor safety (2006); and the Arthur M. Bueche Award from the National Academy

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement