Nikolay P. Laverov (Russian Chair) is vice president of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) and former director of the Institute of Geology of Ore Deposits, Petrology, Mineralogy, and Geochemistry. He has worked in and with the USSR and Russian governments on a range of ecological problems, particularly nuclear waste disposal, and has been a leader in radiogeological studies aimed at using the protective properties of the geological environment to prevent pollution of the ecosphere by radionuclides. In addition to his research activities, Dr. Laverov has held a variety of prominent positions in scientific administration and government, including chief of the Scientific Research Organizations Administration of the USSR Ministry of Geology (1972-1983), pro-rector of the Academy of the National Economy (1983-1987), president of the Kyrgyzstan Academy of Sciences (1987-1989), and USSR deputy prime minister and chairman of the USSR State Committee for Science and Technology (1989-1991). In 1989, Dr. Laverov was elected vice president of the USSR Academy of Sciences, a post to which he was subsequently re-elected in the RAS. In 1992, he was named co-chair of the Earth Science Joint Working Group, which is under the auspices of the U.S.-Russian Space Agreement. He is also a member of the Council on Science and Technology under the President of the Russian Federation. Dr. Laverov graduated from the M.I. Kalinin Nonferrous Metals and Gold Institute in Moscow in 1954 and earned a doctorate in geological-mineralogical sciences in 1958. A full member (academician) of the RAS since 1987, he has authored or co-authored more than 250 publications including 20 books and has served as editor-in-chief of the journal Geology of Ore Deposits since 1989.

Vladmir Asmolov is first deputy director general-director for scientific-technical policy of Energoatom Concern OJSC. Prior to this position, he served as deputy director general-director for science and engineering of FSUE Concern Rosenergoatom. He has also served as director of the Kurchatov Institute, and from 2003-2004, he served as deputy minister of atomic energy of the Russian Federation. In addition, Dr. Asmolov is currently serving as representative of the Russian Federation to the Organization for Economic Cooperation (OECD) Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI); as a professor at Moscow Power Engineering Institute (Technical University); as chairman of the Scientific and Technical Panel of Rosatom (Federal Agency of Atomic Energy, formerly Minatom); as chairman of the scientific and technical panel of Concern Rosenergoatom; and as a member of the International Nuclear Safety Group (INSAG). He has received a certificate of appreciation from the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Order of Courage from the President of the Russian Federation, and the Order of Honour from the President of the Russian Federation. He received a master’s degree from

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement